1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

comments on this build

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by rinhater, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. rinhater

    rinhater Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have been doing alot of research and have put a list together. This will be my first build and I want every thing to go smooth. I have been pulling my hair out trying to decide on what to get. One thing I am undecided on is the CPU. It is either the q6600 or the e8400. What do you think?

    https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishlist/MySavedWishDetail.asp?ID=5587685

    I would like to get a X38 motherboard but they are a minimum of 200 bucks. On that motherboard I picked out, it says the memory standard is DDR2 1066 and the memory I have picked is DDR2 800. Is this a problem?

    I feel pretty good about everything else. What do you think? Are there any compatibility issues? Anything I should change?
     
  2. redZoneOS

    redZoneOS Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    that link you posted will not work. Note the HTTP(S)... This is your private account and unless you post your account name/password no one will be able to see your wishlist! :p That was a joke by the way, don't post your information.

    Either you can post hyperlinks to each item, or just write a description of each so we know what it is you plan on purchasing.

    As for the cpu dilemma, if you buy now, go with the E8400... If you have your heart set on a quad core, wait till the 45nm Quads come out in march I believe.
     
  3. rinhater

    rinhater Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CASE:

    MOBO:

    GPU:

    PSU:

    RAM:

    HDD:

    DVD Drive:

    OS:

    I didn't put the CPU up there since it is either the Intel Core 2 Duo Q6600 or the Intel Core 2 Duo e8400. How does everything look?
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
  5. redZoneOS

    redZoneOS Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have the same motherboard with an E8400... runs amazingly well. As for everything else, I think it looks good (except maybe the HDD?? not sure about the RE models)... anyway wait for other opinions, but I think everything is ok

    On second thought, for the money, you might be able to find a better case.
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    System review:
    Case: Outstanding (what's wrong with it, redzone?)
    Motherboard: Excellent (the RAM standard is not a problem)
    Graphics card: Outstanding
    Power supply: Mediocre - recommended http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139001
    Memory: Excellent
    Hard disk: Oustanding
    DVD drive: Good
    OS: Mediocre. Vista Ultimate or XP Professional SP2 recommended
     
  7. Icanbe

    Icanbe Guest

    @rinhater

    You'll be more than happy with that build, I have the same board, well mine's an ds3r, it's rock solid and you'll be fine with the ram.

    I would change the case, but thats just a personal taste thing.

    Good Luck
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, case is often down to personal preference. From an engineering standpoint the Zero is excellent, it's just the looks that some people don't like.
    Hehe, I have the DS3R too...
     
  9. Icanbe

    Icanbe Guest

    I have an antec p182, and i love it, quiet, clean but a heavy little bugger.

     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yeah my mate Nick has a P182, very nice.
     
  11. rinhater

    rinhater Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I made a few more changes. Check it out and tell me what you think.



    I am going with the E8400 for right now. Maybe in the future I will upgrade to a quad core when they are cheaper. I found another website that has them in stock and they are cheaper than Newegg.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    rinhater, I've already told you how to use links properly. For the benefit of others please follow my advice.
     
  13. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2008
  14. rinhater

    rinhater Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Almost, you just need to remove the square bracket at the end.
     
  16. rinhater

    rinhater Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That's the one! :)
     
  18. Icanbe

    Icanbe Guest

    Yureeka(i know it's spelt wrong), you got it.

    Peace
     
  19. rinhater

    rinhater Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I noticed on Gigabyte's website on the memory support list for my motherboard, there is only a few 2gb's of ram and nothing higher than that. Is that because the list has not been updated? I don't want to buy memory that will not work with my motherboard.
     
  20. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I think that refers to 2GB modules, not just 2GB as a set. 2GB modules aren't that common and I don't even think 4GB ones exist in mainstream yet, so that would seem logical. I don't have any problems running 4GB with my P35C-DS3R, only the issues that you'll always have with 4GB of RAM on a 32-bit OS (i.e. not being able to use all of it)
     

Share This Page