1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Comp freezing up while encoding??

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Tbone8989, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. Tbone8989

    Tbone8989 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does anyone else have a problem of their computer just freezing up while encoding. I have ran into this before but just tried and got it to do it successfully the second time.

    Ive tried everything.
    Defrag hardrive
    Reload Drivers
    Regcure
    CCleaner
    Delete all temp files
    Virus Scan
    Spyware scan


    Anyone have any suggestions
    Help would be greatly appriciated
    Thanks
     
  2. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Just what EXACTLY are you doing? Please be as specific as possible. Thanks
     
  3. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    it may be the copy protection(make sure dvdfab decrypter and or anydvd is up to date)or you may have a bad/scratched/dirty dvd try cleaning it off
     
  4. rdmercer1

    rdmercer1 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    it would be a good thing to post your specs, like how much ram you have cpu speed bla bla, try shuting off programs that you are not useing, no multitasking.
     
  5. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    One more thing to consider:

    Just a long shot, but when was the last time you cleaned the inside of your computer case and made sure all the fans were working properly?

    Shrink is very cpu intensive ans so can make your processor work very hard while ripping/transcoding causing it to get pretty hot. The inside of the case should be well ventilated and all fans should be working to keep things from overheating. It's possible that this could be heat related, so open up that case and make sure all is well, give it a good cleaning.

    It's also possible that the powersupply may be failing under heavy load conditions, supplies are cheap and easy to replace.

    Try other ripping alternatives as suggested, then have shrink finish the job, if the problem still occurs, it could be a heat issue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  6. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yes. More information.

    Any major hardware/software changes to your pc lately?
     
  7. Tbone8989

    Tbone8989 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im just a newbie on computers so ill do my best to give you my specs


    Motherboard P4M800Pro-M Elitegroup ECS Motherboard
    2.0 GB Ram
    Intel Pentium 4 proccesor
    3.0 GHz
    DVDRW LITE ON Writer
    450 Watt XION ATX Power supply

    and yes i have cleaned out the proccesor and the fans.
    Dont know what to do, always freezes now
     
  8. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i would say what i posted above ^^^ in my first post is the problem
     
  9. Tbone8989

    Tbone8989 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i know for a fact my software is up to date and that i the disks are not scratched. When i turn on the computer it says i had an error and i could ignore a send a report, Is there anything else that can help.

    Thanks
     
  10. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you're getting errors before you even start doing anything, you've got more problems than just a backup failure.

    Looks like you may possibly have corrupt system files or driver conflicts. As stated above 7thsinger, have you made any changes to your PC (software or hardware?), if so, what, and did the problem start afterwards?

    You could try a system restore, restoring the OS to a time before this issue started to happen. Worst case, backup all that you can and reformat the hard drive.
     

Share This Page