1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Compatable 5.1 Cinema Systems?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by okthen12, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

    I am looking to invest on surround sound for my ps3.
    However the only surround sound system which i can confirm that works is the Logitech Z-5500, which is £200.
    Just wondering if there are many other systems that will give me true surround sound which is less costly...
    thanx :p
     
  2. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Are you talking about regular 5.1 surround sound? Because that's not even that special anymore. Don't feel bad, I'm still on it. There's 7.1, and all that other true HD sound.

    To answer your question, yes, there are plenty of home theater systems that offer 5.1. If you really want to kick arse, use an optical audio cable or HDMI. It's much better than the analogue 5.1.
     
  3. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

    So are you saying that 7.1 systems produce true HD sound.
    But many systems i have looked at do not have an optical input...
     
  4. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    True HD Sound will be no good to you as the PS3 dosnt produce True HD Sound.
     
  5. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

    right right. lol still so confused though. The logitech z-5500 has a optical input and will produce dolby 5.1, is this my best option?
     
  6. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Take a look at this one,its £30 more than the Logitech but i think its better,i will look for a 7.1 True HD for,in case Sony add it later.
     
  7. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  8. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

    thanks m8
     
  9. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

  10. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
  11. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

  12. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes that is a good one,but youll have to buy speakers as well.
     
  13. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

    Do you know if its dolby true HD?
     
  14. lubricant

    lubricant Guest

    it doesent seem to have true hd
     
  15. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    To get Dolby TrueHD you can not use optical or coaxial as it doesn't have enough bandwidth (1536kbs limit). You will need to send it to a compatible receiver via HDMI v1.3 (10.2gbs limit). Another option would be to let the player decode it to PCM and send it to your receiver via the analog outputs... Obviously not an option for the PS3 as it lacks the multi channel analog outputs.

    The PS3 can output Dolby TrueHD but only via it's HDMI v1.3 connection. You can send it digitally via HDMI or the PS3 can decode the TrueHD track and send it as PCM via the HDMI cable (this is useful for receivers that have HDMI v1.3 but don't have the Dolby TrueHD decoder).

    These HDMI v1.3, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD AV receivers are very expensive, so if you want 5.1 sound then you may be better settling for a regular Dolby/DTS set-up.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2008
  16. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

  17. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, looks like a decent choice.

    Just be aware that those HDMI inputs are simply pass through ports. No audio decoding can be done from the HDMI signal. You will need to connect optical or coaxial cables for that. :)
     
  18. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    Okthen12,it seems i was wrong on this,sorry dude.
    That new link you put up seems to be a pretty decent system.
     
  19. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

    Ok thanks everyone, have now made my decision to buy that once i make abit more dosh :p
     

Share This Page