1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

complete n00b needs help backing up gta:sa

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by xJus10x, Oct 23, 2004.

  1. xJus10x

    xJus10x Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i just downloaded, now please be very specific on what to do? thanks!!!
     
  2. healer01

    healer01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey, I have trouble with this too.

    I burnt all the files inside the .ISO pack so it looked similar to that of my normal copy of Vice City, it didn't work.. I burnt the image and it still doesn't work.

    My PS2 is not modded, I am using the swap disc method with my Action Replay (equal to that of the American GameShark). When I launch the game, it freezes on the Action Replay screen of "Press X to launch the game..."

    I am using Nero Smart or whatever (sorry, its not on this system), I used TDK's DVD-R 1-8x, and I burnt at 2x.

    I am a complete newbie to all this, and if you guys can talk me through burning it and running it, and be very specific, it will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  3. Mayol74

    Mayol74 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    YOU HAVE TO OPEN THE FILE YOU DOWNLOADED (IN THIS CASE WINRAR) AFTER THAT... PASTE ALL FILES AND PUT IN NEW FOLDER....AN THEN DOUBLE CLIC THE FIRST FILE (IT WIILLBE OPEN) YOU WILL SEE A FILE IN THERE.... DRAG THE FILE ... A PUT IN MY DESKTOP AUTOMATIC IT WILL BE A CREATE A IMAGE (IT'S TAKE A 2 MINUTES) AFTER THAT BURNING WITH NERO ...LIKE A BURNING IMAGE ..THAT ALL..( I DID THE SAME THING IT WORK GREAT FOR ME)
     
  4. )v(3thuD

    )v(3thuD Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    All i did was extract all the files to get the ISO, burn it with DVD Decrypter at 4x on Ritek g04 DVD-R, game plays perfect with my Swapmagic.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2004
  5. healer01

    healer01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK, thanks.. I just brought a pack of three Verbatim DVDs.. I don't need to use Alcohol 120% or anything? Just burn the image in Nero at 4x?
     
  6. xJus10x

    xJus10x Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have Mac OS X, and I use Toast. Do I burn as an ISO 9660 or Image File?
     
  7. )v(3thuD

    )v(3thuD Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Use dvd decrypter not nero, it's much better for burning dvd's and reading em, i only use nero for muisc,PC games,apps.

    Just put in the dvd-r, goto mode-iso-write, then locate the iso, choose whatever write speed (i did 4x,works great), click on the HDD-DVD icon, wait for it to finish and thats it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2004
  8. healer01

    healer01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I copied soley using DVDDecrypter, but it didn't work.. Am I booting it wrong or what..?
     
  9. healer01

    healer01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do I need any fixes or anything else to add.. Or how do I get this damn game to work.. They all just freeze the Action Replay screen.
     
  10. )v(3thuD

    )v(3thuD Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I duno what action replay is lol, i just use SwapMagic w/ slide card, thats all. Mabey it's your media.
     
  11. healer01

    healer01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Action Replay is like a GameShark.. It lets you swap discs.. And how do you mean my media?
     
  12. healer01

    healer01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried using the swap disc method for my normal Vice City (retail copy) and it did the same thing.. Maybe I'm not sliding the tray back in properly.. I just push it fast and guess it goes in properly.. Anyone suggest how I can run it?
     
  13. 100%legit

    100%legit Guest

    no gta works fine 4 me i didn't make a back up 4 it. i got it off the net and its brand new the copy
     
  14. 100%legit

    100%legit Guest

    have fun trying to back up gta
     
  15. punx777

    punx777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so is it dvd9 or dvd5?
     
  16. crono841

    crono841 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how can one get swapmagic? Is there a way to burn it and if so can someone post a link. Thanks
     
  17. 100%legit

    100%legit Guest

    it's a dvd 5
     
  18. 100%legit

    100%legit Guest

  19. 100%legit

    100%legit Guest

    www.swapmagicfix.com
     
  20. crono841

    crono841 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just d/led SA and i have all these par-gta5.r files not iso. What do i do with these? I dont really understand the above directions. I make a new folder for them and then what?
     

Share This Page