1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Newbie here

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Jessica99, Jan 23, 2007.

1. Jessica99

Jessica99 Guest

Hey I just bought a ps2 (version: SCPH 77001 - slimline) and I would like to get it modded to play back-ups.
    Problem is Im completely lost as to how to do this:
    Ive been reading this forums for the past hour the amount of content is ridiculous. I know these topics have been covered but I really need to clear these up.

Firstly, please correct me if Im wrong from what Ive gathered this is what I need to do:

1. Get mod chip (matrix infinity) from a site and have it installed by a pro.

2. Download Alcohol 120% (I already have it and its working) and use the guide here to burn a the ps2 DVD to a blank DVD.
    - Dumb question: In the guide it doesnt specify when I should take out the original DVD and place the blank one in?
    - Are there games out there that are too big to fit onto a 4.7GB DVD (Is FFXII or MSG3:Sub one of them?)
    - Do I ever use my given DVD burner software in this?
    - My DVD burner says DVD+Rewritable does that mean that its specified to burn only a certain type of media?

3. Put DVD back up in a play.

Anything Im missing here. I would also like to eventually download backups but ill start with this for now.

Thanks alot, again I apologize for this post I know these answers have already been given but it will take me hours to find them.

Jess

2. UnKn0wN15

UnKn0wN15 Member

well I think getting the Swap Magic with the flip top is the best way instead of getting a mod chip...

as for games being bigger you can always shrink the file...

look for the ExPERT_v1.05

In the guide it doesnt specify when I should take out the original DVD and place the blank one in?

most of the game files will be ISO format, if you want to game a game then you need to rip it and the file should be ISO...