1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Newbie/Idiot

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by wideback, Jun 16, 2004.

  1. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Afternoon all, I am a complete newbie and a complete idiot when it comes to computers.....I tried to install my old DVD drive into my pc and it didnt work, later I found out it was because of the plastic jumper on the back of the drive (doh!)
    Now I am on a mission to install the drive (hopefully today) and start ripping some DVd's so I can send them over MSN and watch them with my fiance'.
    What do I need to know (remember I am an idiot so I need simplistic explainations) to successfully rip a DVD to a very high standard?
    I am using Divx player (latest one) if this needs to be stated????

    Cheers people

     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If you want the best possible quality then rip it with DVD Decrypter. Decrypter will simply remove the copy protection and change nothing else :)
     
  3. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    First off... even if you use Decrypter to rip, then compress with Shrink, your file is going to be over 4GB's. That is way to big for any ISP. Think about the postal service, or just taking them over yourself :)

    This maybe try converting to an .avi file, even then file's gonna be around 600-700mb. And in my opinion, picture quality isn't that great compared to using Shrink w/Decrypter.

    Is there any reason why you want them sent via MSN??
     
  4. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To be honest, the quality of the AVI's I have seen before have been good enough to watch with excellent sound quality.
    I have seen some (swordfish) which was awsome quality and little over 800mb!!!

    I would like to encode them to AVI (obviously at highest quality) until I get a DVD burner, then I can send the copies to my fiance.

    The reason why I would be using MSN to send them is because my fiance' lives in France and i live in UK so its a quick easy way to watch films together!
     
  5. The_OGS

    The_OGS Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You want what I make, 700MB DivX AVIs.
    They say they are obsolete, they really are I suppose once you get a DVD burner, but I have 127 movies on a 160GB SATA HD, that I serve up on my LAN, so for me (and maybe you) they're great.
    The best audio you can do is Dolby ProLogic encoded stereo MP3; very watchable if done carefully but many use AC3 audio (nice, handy pre-compressed 5.1 audio on the DVD) but typically 250-350MB so movie becomes '2 CD' sized, too much for one 700MB CD.
    If you will be pleased with the results, then I recommend GordianKnot. There is much info/guides/links on this website, also AutoGKnot is available, very NooB-friendly I am told...
    http://www.autogk.net/web/index.php
    Have you got that DVD mastered on your second controller, or what did you do?
    Regards
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]IT Technician BSc MCSA
    XP2500+Barton 512MB PC3200[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2004
  6. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    2nd controller?
    Master?

    Yopu lost me
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Depends on the ISP ;-P

    Sounds like he means if your DVD set to Master (as oppose to Slave) on the Secondary IDE controller
     
  8. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ahhhhh right I got ya now!

    It has recently come to light that the DVD drive is not compatable with windows XP and as such cannot be recognised as a DVD drive but as a normal CD ROM.

    Ive been out and bought a new drive this morning which is working fine and is as sweet as a nut :)

    Im not looking at sharing via FTP or hosting on a site.....Im merely sending the file over MSN Messenger so me and my fiance' can watch them.

    Now, what do I need to know to start ripping them to very high quality AVI with dogs bollox sounds?

    Cheers guys
     
  9. The_OGS

    The_OGS Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You need to know LOTS :) but you can get quick answers if you get messed-up.
    Did you check the AutoGK?
    Jesus Praetor it's four-thirty in the morning... did she kick you out? ;}
     
  10. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Right....I downloaded and installed the AutoGK programme, havent had a chance to look at it yet because I have just had a new phone line put in the office and as a result had to abandon and cover up my PC for a few hours!

    Going to have a peek at it in a moment :):)

    Im guessing you guys arent from the UK then?
     
  11. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh and thanks for the help you've given (and the help I'll need)

    Much appreciated
     
  12. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Im trying to run this AutoGK and Ive initiated the job sequence by choosing the video_ts file string from the source DVD, I got a load of little msgs in the corner of the programme and my dvd light is on but, how do I know whether its doing anything or not?

    Theres no status bar, my PC is running as normal and nothing seems to have changed......is this sodding thing working?

    By the way Im trying to rip John Carpenters The Thing from an english DVD (region 2,4)

    I hate modern technology, take me back to the dark age when I could rule the world through fear :)

    (sorry, going a bit nutz)
     
  13. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok last question for tonight......how much hard drive space does this crap take?

    Say you're decrypting and encoding a dvd with 320kbps vbr mp3 sound and a 720 resolution optimised at 90%.....how much memory would it use?

    The decryption files are taking up 7.25gb on their own
     
  14. shiroh

    shiroh Guest

    the dvd is 2 layered so it would be 9.4 GB max. 7, like yours is standard.
    did you resize the video ?
    resizing is important, as the source could be in 16:9, most movies does. if you don't the vid will look stretch.

    does autoGK does this automatically ? i'm not sure. as i don't use it ?
    it won't take to much ram dor decrypting
     
  15. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ive just decrypted lord of the rings but its on 2 discs so Im gonna need something to cut and edit the video...............................
     
  16. wideback

    wideback Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now I know I may be getting on some peoples nerves here but I need to know as much as possible to succeed.

    Ive decrypted the discs and Im gonna encode tonight but there are certain scenes I dont need and would like to ditch them in order to cut the final size down....how would I do this?

    With it being a DVD rip I want to get rid of the menu, scene selection and fade to black scenes when requesting disc 2 and wouldnt mind trashing the end credits either but as the thread states Im a complete newbie and a novice with technology!

    Gis a clue?
     
  17. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I dont sleep. Ok... maybe once or twice a week.

    Canada.

    Have a look at the DVD to AVI (or whatever) guides and then clip out the credits at the end (see http://www.hazza.dsl.pipex.com/faq.htm#CLIPAVI for a quick set of instructions)
     
  18. WARNE

    WARNE Guest

    Hey gang I am new as well and also feel like an idiot (I must say all this is quite intimidating). I am trying to read and learn how to burn DVDs and compress them etc. Can someone treat me like a kindergarten and walk me through in baby steps and tell me what I need (software) and how it all works and comes together? I have a DVD burner as well as a CD and have NERO and have Bit Torrent installed. Also, I don't know if it makes any difference, but I have Windows XP Pro.
     
  19. WARNE

    WARNE Guest

    Also forgot to mention last night I installed Nimo Codec Pack 7. Can someone tell me more about codecs too and anything else you can think of? Thanks again!
     
  20. WARNE

    WARNE Guest

    Ok Ok ... guys don't kill me I forgot to mention one more thing I would like to learn, how to burn store DVDs onto a DVD or CD? Again if someone can walk me through I would appreciate it. Sorry, hopefully that's the end of my questions for today.
     

Share This Page