1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

COMPLETE Newbie with WiiKey

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by coolzaidi, Jul 21, 2007.

1. coolzaidi

coolzaidi Member

I have never, ever soldered in my life. I used different methods of back-up before, such as a super-card for the DS, or swap magic for the PS2. Hopefully, I'll be getting a Wii tomorrow, and I want to mod it. I thought it would be easy at first, the installation looked easy with quick-solder method, and I had seen my brother using a soldering iron a couple of times before, so I know how to use one of them, but I never have. Now i'm learning about all these different kinds of chipsets for the Wii, and odds are against, I may getting a Wii with its legs cut off. If so, is it possible for a complete newbie to do the necessary requirements to attach WiiKey to my Wii? or is the installation quite hard for veterans of soldering as well?

2. NDarkness

NDarkness Regular member

If you get the one with the legs cut off, then DO NOT try and attempt to do the job. The process is where you'll have to use a dremel on the chipset to reveal the legs. Based on how you described yourself, I don't think you can do it.

3. coolzaidi

coolzaidi Member

lol, hey Ndarkness this is irony, moments after I finished making this thread, I searched and found the video you made on basic soldering. It was a big help and helped me get the basic gist of soldering, thanks for the video. Yea, i don't think i can do it either if the legs are cut off, ill have to find a professional in my area, or send it to modchipman, but the thing is, is that modchipman's turnaround time is too long, which is why i wanted to do it myself. I have searched for a professional in my area experienced with Wii modding, but to no avail. So hopefully, I get one with legs still attached.

4. NDarkness

NDarkness Regular member

Ha that's pretty cool.