1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

componet cables

Discussion in 'HDTV discussion' started by cmoney333, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. cmoney333

    cmoney333 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have 50ft componet cables in use in my ht can they cause picture problems or can the cables just go bad and you would need to purchase new ones or is that a stupid question have diplay hooked up to hdmi and componet cables picture is fine with hdmi cable have lines rolling in video almost like on and old tv back in the day when the componet cables are in use display is a projector
     
  2. cheezzzz

    cheezzzz Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Proper punctuation should make your post more understandable. This way you can get more answers to your question.

     
  3. gerry1

    gerry1 Guest

    @cheezzzz...please be nice to the newbies. Its easy to see what he means and he was perfectly polite.

    @cmoney..... I don't know the answer to your question but be a little patient and I'm sure one of the regulars here in this forum can answer you. Welcome to afterdawn!
     
  4. cheezzzz

    cheezzzz Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm not trying to be an ass or something but I had to reread the post several times to get the subject (which I still dont). I know that it could be the fact that English is not the OP's primary language. There is always improvement for everybody.

    @cmoney333: which connection gives you the lines rolling? HDMI or comp?
     
  5. cmoney333

    cmoney333 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the componet cables are giving me the rolling lines
     
  6. VidJunkie

    VidJunkie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The rolling lines are caused by interference leaking into your component cables, which are analog lines. Long cables (i.e., 50ft) are more susceptible than short ones. The most common source of interference is AC power. The easiest solution is to make sure that the component cables are as far from any AC power cords as possible. A better solution is to invest in high quality component cables that are shielded, which minimizes the amount of interference that can leak into the cable. The HDMI cables are far less susceptible to low frequency (AC power) interference because they carry a digital signal.
     
  7. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    Your absolutely right VidJunkie.

    Good posting,
    -Ced
     
  8. error5

    error5 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. eatsushi

    eatsushi Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I also had the rolling lines of ground loop traceable to my cable connection. It was apparent when I used the component connection on my Panny PTAE900u projector. The cables were custom made 25 feet long Quad-shielded RG6 Beldens with Canare connectors (bluejeanscable.com). The HDMI connection didn't have this problem. I thought the quad shielding would protect against any AC line interference but after some testing I identified the cable connection as the source of the problem.

    Here's another example:

    http://www.spytown.com/grloistr.html

    I used this CENCOM isolator which doubles as a spike protector and it eliminated the rolling lines and ground loop.

    http://www.cencom94.com/gpage.html8.html
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2007

Share This Page