1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

computer no video signal???????

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by qwerty977, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. qwerty977

    qwerty977 Guest

    I have a dell 4300 and just installed a new video card and power supply. The card is a nvida 7800gs and a cheap 500watt power supply. When I turn the comp on it starts and starts to load but then the screen goes blank and says no signal imput. The computer is still on though. It just started to happen today.Any reason for this?
     
  2. psxnut

    psxnut Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi,
    Did you uninstall the old graphic drivers, try booting in safe mode to get your pc running and uninstall drivers if not. You may also need to upgrade your bios on your motherboard if its old.
     
  3. SkyLynx

    SkyLynx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not sure... but did it used to work properly and now doesn't?

    What were you running on before? Another video card, or on-board video?

    If it was onboard, then you have to disable it in the bios.

    If it was another video card, then as psxnut says, you should uninstall the old drivers.
     
  4. qwerty977

    qwerty977 Guest

    Before I installed the new graphics card I deleted the old driver for the old video card and upgraded the bios. It has happened since I installed the card a week ago. It only happens at random times when I start the computer.
     
  5. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Is everything [bold] solidly plugged in?[/bold]
    sounds like an intermittant problem due to something not having a solid connection somewhere.
    Secondly, have you installed the latest drivers for your videocard?
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2007
  6. qwerty977

    qwerty977 Guest

    Ive disconnected it and reconnected the computer many times and still have the smae problem and I have the lastest driver for the card.
     
  7. psxnut

    psxnut Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sounds like its time to buy a new card then.
     
  8. qwerty977

    qwerty977 Guest

    I just installed the card a week ago its a nvidia 7800gs oc. Bfg changed the bios on the card though.
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    possibility the psu was not compatible with dell & it blew.
     
  10. ACIDMX

    ACIDMX Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Strange this just happened to me yesterday with my dell.


    Ok heres what you do:

    -Boot into safemode with networking

    -Go here and install drivers for your card.

    -Reboot.

    Even if you have the drivers reinstall them trust me.

    This will fix it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2007
  11. avlanche

    avlanche Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used to get the same problem but since i 've formatted the hard drive,everything is just fine.Do a format & try to seek the options from the BIOS.May be u need to reconfigure the BIOS settings.Make sure the onboard display is off.
    Do a format & install a fresh copy of ur operating system & install all the latest drivers of ur hardware.
    The format worked for me,hope it should work for u too.
    Also try to use ur card with any other system,like if u have any other rig or check it on to ur buddy's system.At lest that will tell if the fault is in graphics card.
     
  12. j4mes1990

    j4mes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    hi i had the same problem it would only show no signal if i unplugged everything. then i had to wait 24hours or less for it to work again i found out i had faulty pci slots check you slots to see if any thing is wrong with them
     
  13. j4mes1990

    j4mes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi sorry for the spam but i am trying to install a graphics card but i dont know how to can you help me please thanks james
     
  14. SkyLynx

    SkyLynx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @James,

    I need many more details regarding your problem. Don't leave anything out.

    Also, what you've done is referred to as "highjacking" a thread. You should start a new thread with your question and all the details that you can provide.
     
  15. j4mes1990

    j4mes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok sorry for highjacking the fread skylynx i have possted my own fread but no 1 has posted in it ill put the details in there
     

Share This Page