1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Computer running like crap need some help please.

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by DawnRenee88, May 27, 2015.

  1. DawnRenee88

    DawnRenee88 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have windows 7 originally but upgraded to 8.1. Lately just running firefox and vlc media player messes up windows. And I don't know why.

    Ok here's what I did > I went to control panel and went into the System settings and it shows.

    Windows 8.1 Pro
    System
    Processor: AMD E-300 apu with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics 1.30 GHz
    Installed Memory (RAM): 2.00 GB (1.49 GB Usable)
    System Type: 64-bit Operating System

    I do run the free version of AVG virus scanner from time to time last time in fact was last week it found nothing. I don't have a program currently installed to check for errors but I did download Advanced Systemcare 8 but have not installed it yet. Hard drive on Desktop sticker says its a 500 GB but (C:) says its 446GB and I have 217 GB free.

    Is there any way to check my pc for errors with what comes with the windows 8.1 or is there a free good program to use I need all the help I can get. I'm new to tinkering with pcs.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    as you have 64bit windows, get another 2gigs of ram as windows will run better. you might have 2x1gig sticks currently or 1x2gig stick so with extra 2gigs you'll either have 3gigs or 4gigs of ram. what other anti-spyware\malware programs do you have? what errors messages are you getting when firefox or vlc screws up?
     
  3. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Greetings, DawnRenee88

    My name is 2oldGeek and we will be working together to clean your machine of any Malware/ junkware, feel free to call me 2old. I'm not sensitive.lol :)

    Before we start please note the following:

    [​IMG] Analysis and research takes some time, also sometimes real life gets in the way, please be patient.
    [​IMG] Limit your internet access while posting here, we really don't need any more infections.
    [​IMG] Don't try to fix anything on your own or run any other tools. They may interfere and do more harm than good.
    [​IMG] Stay with me to the end, the absence of symptoms doesn't mean that your machine is fully cleaned.
    [​IMG] Note that we may live in totally different time zones and may cause some delays between answers.
    [​IMG] To make my work easier please attach all reports using the [​IMG] button below.

    [​IMG] I can't foresee everything, so if anything unexpected happens, please stop and inform me!
    [​IMG] There are no silly questions. Never be afraid to ask if in doubt!

    Let's start and enjoy the fight! :)

    [​IMG] Scan with Farbar Recovery Scan Tool

    Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool x64 and save it to your Desktop.
    • Right-click on [​IMG] icon and select [​IMG] Run as Administrator to start the tool.
      (XP users click run after receipt of Windows Security Warning - Open File).
    • When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Make sure that Addition option is checked.
    • Press Scan button and wait.
    • The tool will produce two logfiles on your desktop: FRST.txt and Addition.txt.
    Please attach both logs to your next reply.
     
  4. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    you're too fast ddp...
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2015
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    not my fault you are too slow.
     
  6. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    No, I'm OOOOLD!
    We can see if anything is wrong before selling her RAM..:)
     
  7. DawnRenee88

    DawnRenee88 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't normally get Error messages I just keep getting (Not Responding) on firefox and VLC from time to time but its trouble some.

    I also checked my Start up running programs most of the stuff is disabled except for
    Adobe Reader and Acrobat Manager (2)
    Adobe Acrobat SpeedLauncher
    AVG User Interface (2)
    CTF Loader
    Catalyst Control Center Launcher (2)
    Catalyst Control Center Monitoring Program
    Google Installer(3)
    Google Crash Handler
    Google Crash Handler
    Google Installer
    Hotkey Utility
    Netgear (2)
    Conhost
    Raptr Desktop App (Not Measured)
    Realtek HD Audio Manager
    Vprotect Application

    All are high maybe 3 are meium.

    I don't know what most of these are I know I will need to keep the netgear one so I don't have to run the program every time I start-up the pc. Is there anything I can stop from starting up when I start my pc.
     
  8. DawnRenee88

    DawnRenee88 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry I meant medium.
     
  9. DawnRenee88

    DawnRenee88 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I will scan with the program suggested. Plus I do have AVG and so far it has found nothing. Dose this scanner just look for viruses and spyware. I was kind of wondering that part.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    these can be disabled.
    Adobe Reader and Acrobat Manager (2)
    Adobe Acrobat SpeedLauncher
    CTF Loader
    Catalyst Control Center Launcher (2)
    Catalyst Control Center Monitoring Program
    Google Installer(3)
    Google Crash Handler
    Google Crash Handler
    Google Installer
    Netgear (2)
    Raptr Desktop App (Not Measured)
    Realtek HD Audio Manager
    Vprotect Application
     
  11. DawnRenee88

    DawnRenee88 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok DDP I just Disabled all that you listed that can be Disabled.
     
  12. DawnRenee88

    DawnRenee88 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok just finished the scan from the program. Here are the results I added them to this post.
    I hope you can help me with the issues I'm having with my pc. Thanks in advance. And ddp thanks for the help with the start up running programs.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    After going through those logs, I only found 1 malware which is Conduit, a search engine hijacker and it's in IE so not really a problem...
    In my opinion you are running Too Much Operating System for that small machine. MS says the minimum for 8.1 is 2GB ram and 1Gh CPU but that's just the bear minimum and is like running an Indy car on city streets ( no room to show off its full potential ).
    My suggestion would be to up grade your ram to 4Gb and re-install Win 7 (32bit if you can).. Your AMD E-300 is a dual core @ 1.3 GHz and very difficult for it to handle 64bits.

    In the mean time you can run a generic cleaner and see if that helps any by removing the conduit, check for system problems and set browsers to default:

    [​IMG] Scan with ZOEK

    Please download ZOEK by Smeenk and save it to your desktop (preferred version is the *.exe one)
    Please also download the attached scriptfile, named zoekscript.txt.


    [​IMG] Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware programs, so they do not interfere with the running of Zoek.exe. You can find instructions how to disable your security applications here.

    Now, on your Desktop, drag and drop zoekscript.txt on Zoek.exe as shown below:
    [​IMG]

    Please approve any UAC prompt to allow this action to proceed.

    Answer Yes to the following prompt to allow the zoek script to run:

    [​IMG]

    This action causes Zoek.exe to start automatically. Please be patient while Zoek is scanning.

    When the tool finishes, the zoek-results.log is opened in Notepad.
    The log is also found on the systemdrive, normally C:\
    If a reboot is needed, the log is opened after the reboot.

    Please attach the zoek-results.log to your reply.


    2oG
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 28, 2015
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    turn that UAC off in "Change User Account Control Settings" under User Accounts in control panel.
     

Share This Page