1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer shuts down while ripping DVD

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by ripperjo9, Jan 20, 2007.

1. ripperjo9

ripperjo9 Member

Hey I'm a newbie here and I dunno if anyone has had this problem before but its becoming kind of problem as of late. Lately when I have DVD Shrink rip a DVD and its around 40%, my computer shuts off. It's happened on the last couple DVDs I've tried to rip. The DVDs I tried to rip were:

The Tick (Cartoon Series)
    The X-Files: Season 3-Disc 1

When I tried to rip the Tick, I got an error message saying there was a CRC problem. When trying to rip the X-Files dvd, it just shuts down around 40%. I dunno if its the actual DVD, my DVD drive, or a computer problem itself. Any advice would be grateful, thanks!

Last edited: Jan 20, 2007
  2. ripperjo9

ripperjo9 Member

Forgot to provide specs:

Toshiba Satellite
    Pentium 4: 3 GHz
    512 MB RAM
    Windows XP Home-2002

3. PacMan777

PacMan777 Regular member

How much hard drive free space? You could use more RAM, but you can watch the task manager. My system would be going to virtual memory on the HD with only 512MB. That's what happens when you run out of memory (RAM).

By the way, the mods will get all over you for talking about recording rental movies. That's against the anti-piracy rules here at AD. If Shrink is the only think you're using, you need to get RipIt4Me to go along with it. It's free. http://www.ripit4me.org/guide.html You'll need to install DVD Decrypter along with the Shrink before using the installer.

4. johnl123

johnl123 Regular member

@ripperjo9