1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

confusion with capture devices and hardware needed for transfer of vhs to dvd.

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by kedm, May 1, 2004.

1. kedm

kedm Member

Hi, I am new to all of this so I appoligize in advance for my lack of knowlegde. My problem is more of needing advice more than tech help. First let me list my system so people know what type of system I am dealing with:
    I have a P4 2.8ghz computer with the prescott chip that has 1mb l2 cache, 2.0gb of dual channel ddr 3200 ram, two hard drives 1.) Primary 80gb 2.) slave 120gb for video. Both drives are 7200rpm. I have a lg 4040b multi dvd+/- rw/ram drive. Also I have a radeon 9800 pro 128mb video card and a avermedia tv studio capture card.
    What I have been doing is capturing vhs tapes at 720x480 at 20mb/s in mpeg2 format. Then i rencode using tmpge down to 352x240 and burn on to dvd using tmpge dvd authoring.
    I get viewable quality, but it still is less then I would like. I am aiming to have dvd with near the same quality as the vhs. From what i have read on this forum it is probably my capture card. What would be my best alternative. I was looking at buying a canopus ADVC-100, but they are costly and I am not sure what other hardware i would need if i did buy this card. Do I need to buy a really high quality firewire card or will any card do? I am not sure since my pc only has usb 2.0 and not fire wire. Also since my Pc is quite powerful i was wondering if any one else would have any recomendations on good capture devices for this task and what other equipment i would need to purchase in order to make it work eg. Software etc. I am only looking for a device for vhs transfer only as i probably won't use it for much else.
    Thank you in advance as any insight is well appreciated.
    kedm