1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connected but not connected!

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by 1234aaron, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ive managed to get my computer connected to the other computer. i picks up the signal the seems to aquire an IP adress for about 5 mins!! eventually it says its connected! when i open internet explorer, firefox or MSN Messenger, none of them connect because im apparantly not connected!? on the taskbar it says ive got an Excellent connection?! Its broaudcasting its ssid and its unsecured so i dont see what the problem is, everytime i fiddle with the settings i just stuff up the internet on the host computer (ive used system restore about 16 times now just to fix it!) So plzzzz any help, links, Anything! would be great!
    thx
     
  2. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you are using wireless what kind what is your set up?
     
  3. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well i turned to nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connectors into softaps, (type "Nintendo wifi usb connector softap" in google) and did a Ad-Hoc, i think thats what its called, but the internet dont work and i can connect to next doors wireless easily
     
  4. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is your host computer set up to share network? is your wireless wep encripted? can you connect with host computer hard wired (not through wireless)directly to modem no router?
     
  6. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thx for the help buuutttt, tried it, dont work + im 13 and its realy confusing, any other ideas to get an offline PC to connect wirelessly to an internet enabled PC
     
  7. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes its setup for sharing but all that other studd you said... i have no idea what it means. Could you show me where to go to check that encryption thingy
    thx
    Oh and no, i need wireless
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2008
  8. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what kind of wireless router do you have?
     
  9. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if you don't have wireless and you are connecting through neighbors computer through their wireless just use theirs
     
  10. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Im just using 2 Softapp nintendo wifi usb adaptors, and when there drivers are modded the pc says that they are:
    BUFFALO WLI-U2-KG54-YB Wireless LAN Adapter
     
  11. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The neighbors wireless is really low connection and dissconnects alot
     
  12. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    And if i try to connect my Wii or DS it will save the settings but fails the connection test. so its just the internet thats not getting through
    Oh and soz for all the posting, ill just edit them from now
     
  13. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is your main pc wireless? without the softap?
     
  14. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Soz, dont getcha? If i dont modd the Nintendo wifi usb drivers, i can only connect my DS, so i have to modd the drivers to turn it into a wireless lan adapter
    Is there anyway i can talk to you instantly, Msn messenger?
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2008
  15. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    this will only work if computer you are trying to connect through is WLAN equiped
     
  16. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well a about 1 week ago it was working for about 1 hour, i was fiddling for ages until i got it to work, i saved it as a profile but i had to reinstall windows due to a virus stuffing everything up (i think) i completly forgot about all the time i speant on the PC fiddling to get the internet goin, so i know for sure it can work but how....
    Thx 4 all d help, any other ideas?
     
  17. jackofall

    jackofall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    jackofall1232@highlandercomputers.com
     

Share This Page