1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting a USB Hard Drive...?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by ShoT, Oct 1, 2004.

  1. ShoT

    ShoT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys, I have a Maxtor 60 Gig external HD, can I connect it to the PS2? Or do I have to get the PS2 NIC and then use an IDE HD?
     
  2. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. ShoT

    ShoT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I read that... but I also saw that you can plug in flash drives and they will work... Im gonna try it out... Im not spending extra $$$ or anything, I already own it. Also, back in the day, I remember people playing Tony Hawk 3 (i think) online by plugging in their broadband modem using the USB connection... can I still do that, can I play online games such as SOCOM with my cable modem plugged in?
     
  4. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    HD Loader/Advance doesn't support USB connections. It's programmed to look for the HDD on the IDE connector.
     
  5. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    a flash drive can be used to install exploits and hd loader etc.. but you need the max evo software to use one.
    you will need a Network adaptor which uses an ethernet connection to play online, you cant just plug your modem into your ps2 and play like that! =)
     
  6. ShoT

    ShoT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright, thanks guys! Guess Ill have to take that Maxtor out of the thing that makes it External and get the NIC...
     

Share This Page