1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connection confusion- need help or referral

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by tblossom, Mar 21, 2012.

1. tblossom

tblossom Member

I have a windows xp operated system. I have been using mutorrent for several months and surfing the net simultaneously. Lately, when I turn on mutorrent after several minutes my internet stops functioning, completely!
    But according to "Network Connections" in my control panel, I´m still connected, however when I check "Network Places", in the start menu and click on My web sites on MSN I get the error message:" Documents in this folder not available............". What is wrong?

Thanks for your help.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  2. AfterDawn

AfterDawn Advertisement

3. Mez

Mez Regular member

I suspect you have picked up a bot net. Torrent users are favorite targets of bot nets.

If you don't find and remove it you will be blamed for any torrents you download or anything else they may do. If police to come to your door you will be made accountable for any violation they can find, such as what ever you downloaded using mutorrent. It is well worth formatting your hard disk to get rid of it. The going rate is 3,000 USDs per movie.

4. attar

attar Active member

If you have a restore point that predates the problem, try it.

If you have a firewall, configure it to block everything outgoing.
    Anything outgoing will have to ask permission, you can then decide if it's legit or not.
    I think ZoneAlarm has a free version.

If you can't get a good restore, turn off backup until it's resolved.

5. Mez

Mez Regular member

Most bot nets will act as an add-on for your browser or something else that already has firewall access. They infect as a legal update not as a virus so they are often missed by even a good AV.

The restore point will work if the problem is fairly new.

6. Mez

Mez Regular member