1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

console acting like a dvd player

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by XIX19, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. XIX19

    XIX19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Whenever i try an play a xbox game i get the 'to play this game put in a xbox console' or whatever. Does anyone knw what the problem could be?
     
  2. mulletinc

    mulletinc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    has your DVD drive been flash and have you now updated to the latest dashboard?
     
  3. XIX19

    XIX19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i havent updated no bt a guy flashed it for me. Could it be possible he messed it up? I dnt think he has the dvd key either, is there anyway i can extract the key and replace the drive?
     
  4. forestboy

    forestboy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Looks like the guy who flashed it has messed up. If your disc drive doesnt have the correct key, it will only play dvd's. He should still have your old firmware backed up, and so a copy of your key. Get him to redo it. If he hasn't, youre screwed, there is NO WAY of getting the key from your box, unless he has it, bad times....
     
  5. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Did it ever play discs since you got it back? If so, then it is probably your laser. Is it just backups that do not play or do retail games work?
     
  6. XIX19

    XIX19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nope. Retail games dont work either. I do have another console that i use for live bt would i be able to re-flash the hitachi to make backups? Also, is there really no way to recover the key?
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2011
  7. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If it never played discs once it was flash and you don't have the key it's just a DVD player with XBLA and Netflix.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2011
  8. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yep. Or a good door stop
     
  9. XIX19

    XIX19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    haha. This sucks. thanx for help.
     
  10. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just Curious:
    Did it work when he flashed it, and recently stopped working?
    Did it never work after you got it flashed?
    Did it give this error gradually before giving it consistently?
    When was it flashed?
     

Share This Page