1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting DivX, avi, MPEG to DVD Format

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by marvinr, Aug 14, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marvinr

marvinr Guest

I'm a newbie...is there any way to convert a DivX, avi, MPEG file, etc. that I downloaded from the Internet into a regular DVD format so I can watch the movie on my DVD player and TV??

marvinr@adelphia.net

2. AfterDawn

AfterDawn Advertisement

3. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

We got plenty of guides that instruct how to convert your videos to DVD format, here are some of those:

http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/convert_multiple_formats_to_dvd_dvdsanta.cfm
    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/divx_to_dvdr_with_dvd2svcd_d2sroba.cfm
    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/vso_divxtodvd_2_guide.cfm

Additionally, we have couple of more "one-click" tools to convert your videos to DVD format on our software archive, so feel free to browse through http://www.afterdawn.com/software/

Also, one way to do this is to create miniDVDs out of those files, but you don't gain much in this process -- instead you actually lose even more of the quality what you have in DivX / MPEG files.

Instead, you can encode your movies into VCDs or SVCDs -- those formats work in most of the stand-alone DVD players very nicely. In most of the cases when you download a MPEG movie (named as .mpg or .mpeg) it is already in VCD compliant format. In case of DivX ;-) movies, you need to encode them to VCD format -- this is a bad method as you lose even more picture quality (encoding anything twice is always a bad idea). But if you really insist encoding all your existing video clips again into VCD format, use TMPGEnc -- it's free MPEG-1 encoder that has VideoCD templates ready for your use (just open a file, choose the format you want it to be encoded to and _wait_).