1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting torrents and putting them onto Dvds...

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by Walty87, May 6, 2007.

1. Walty87

Walty87 Member

Hello,
    Firstly I want to apologize if this question has been asked a million times, Ive been trying to figure this out all day and couldnt so I thought Id post my own question.

So Im new to downloading torrents and burning and things like that. I have downloaded several torrent videos which I cannot play on my computer using Windows Media Player or anything like that. I believe they are in XviD codec(?). I have downloaded ConvertXtoDVD and Media coder, but am having problems. Everytime I try using these files it says the program or whatever Im running doesnt recognize them or something I dont know.

Basically I dont know what Im doing. I have to decrypt these XviD files? And then I need to change their type to something that I can burn onto a DVD-R? What free programs can I use to do this. I know alot of people download torrents and then put them on dvds so I know it can be done.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, especially in a compete laymen's terms!

2. attar

attar Senior member

Download GSpot
    http://www.headbands.com/gspot/v26x/GSpot270a.zip
    Drag one of the downloaded files on to it and find out what kind of file you are dealing with.
    It should tell you the codecs used to build the video and let you know if those codecs are present on your PC.

[​IMG]

3. attar

attar Senior member

Double post again.

Last edited: May 6, 2007
  4. Walty87

Walty87 Member

[​IMG]

So it says the codecs are not installed...
    Whats the next step?

5. Walty87

Walty87 Member

So I tried 'rendering' the video and audio with the buttons at the bottom and the audio worked and let me get to 3 and test it, but it said there was an error with the video. Is there something wrong with this particular file?