1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

coping mod games xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by jusandjan, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. jusandjan

    jusandjan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can anyone help / advise me.

    I have a mod xbox and get get my games from a friend, but i wanted to make a copy of that game. someone advised me to use DVD-CLONER 8. I tried it but when I tried the game it just said unrecognized disc.

    1st of all not sure if the dvd-cloner8 is the right one for this?

    2nd if dvd-cloner 8 is correct coping program. I must be doing something wrong

    3rd and last, is the another program which is very good for this type of coping

    thank you for any help
     
  2. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you should use imageburn, chose option create an image from a disc, it will create an iso which you can burn with the program!
     
  3. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Like peluynati said, use ImgBurn.

    1. Using ImgBurn, choose create image (ISO) file from disc.

    2. Create a .dvd file (containing the layerbreak info) for your image (ISO).
    If the image game is XGD2 (7.29 GB) the layerbreak will be 1913760.
    If the image game is XGD3 (8.13 GB) the layerbreak will be 2133520.

    Let's say your ISO is named "gears-of-halo-warfare-7".
    Use notepad to create a text file.

    If it's an XGD2 game, you will type:
    LayerBreak=1913760
    gears-of-halo-warfare-7.iso

    If it's an XGD3 game, you will type:
    LayerBreak=2133520
    gears-of-halo-warfare-7.iso

    3. Save the file in the same location as the ISO, and make sure it has the same name as the ISO, then change the extension of it from .txt to .dvd

    4. Again using ImgBurn, choose Write image file to disc. Select the .dvd file, NOT the ISO file. (selecting the .dvd file tells ImgBurn where to place the layerbreak when burning the ISO).
     
  4. RIARA

    RIARA Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    you can use clone cd if you just want to make a backup of a backup
     
  5. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    True, but ImgBurn seems to give the fewest problems to the fewest users.
     
  6. jusandjan

    jusandjan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ignore message
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  7. jusandjan

    jusandjan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i think i have it susses. I have changed the setting in imgburn, put the XGD3 no is the user defined.

    now notice the name of the game is DVD_ROM.

    so there when i create the txt file i called it DVD_ROM.

    if someone can tell me if that is correct
     
  8. zpaitsel

    zpaitsel Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Rename the dvd_rom to the actual game title or your going to have alot of dvd rom's and never know what game is what...
     
  9. jusandjan

    jusandjan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have checked that Saints row thrid is a XGD3 game, so do i add the LayerBreak number 2133520 in the user specified field in imgburn.

    is that correct???
     
  10. jusandjan

    jusandjan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have copied the game on to my harddrive I now have 2 files 1 is WinRAR archive (.ISO)
    and the 2nd is DVD-ROM.MDS.

    what do i do now
     
  11. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    burn iso with image burn, chose the dvd file
     
  12. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Dude, I laid out a precise, short, detailed, mini-guide for you. Just follow it, burn the disc and play your game.
     
  13. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Delete the .MDS file as you don't need it.

    To burn the game, you have 2 options: -

    1. Follow what eebeejay said in post #3.

    2. Set the layerbreak manually in ImgBurn and then burn the ISO without a .DVD file. To set the layerbreak, open ImgBurn and go to Tools - Settings - Write - User Specified, and then enter in the correct layerbreak: -

    If the game is XGD2 = 1913760
    If the game is XGD3 = 2133520

    The easiest way is to just do what eebeejay said. As for your game being called "DVD_ROM", that's fine. Just make folders for the games and name them so you know which game is which, then place the ISO and DVD files in those. That also makes it easier to create .DVD files as you can just make one for XGD2 games and one for XGD3 games and copy them to the folders with your game ISOs in them, as they all have the same name.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  14. jusandjan

    jusandjan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry I guys I have followed instructions and now got this message

    user specified layer break position exceeds L0 capacity

    User specified sectors:2,133,520
    Maximum L0 sectors: 2,086,912

    Would you like to continue anyway?

    Is it something to do with the setting when i coping the game nto the hard drive?
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  15. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  16. jusandjan

    jusandjan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so thats that then. to sum it up, you cant copy the XGD3
     
  17. RIARA

    RIARA Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28

Share This Page