1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

copy dvd to external burner

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by kevinjs, Nov 27, 2004.

  1. kevinjs

    kevinjs Guest

    i have a dvd player, but not a burner. dell does not make one for my laptop. can i record to an external dvd recorder that is connected to my tv? or should i get an external drive so i can use the various dycriptor programs. i am new to this, so your help is appreciated.
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Hi kevinjs, welcome to aD,

    Sure, you can play a DVD into a recorder BUT it will only go the speed of the DVD and though I'm not positive, I believe in order to record the movie the recorder must be fed discs one by one. A single disc for 120 minutes of movie. If your movie is 223 minutes then you'll have to halt the movie and change discs after the 2 Hour mark.

    Now, if you spend less $$$$ for an external burner for your LT you'll be able to put any DVD (even mare than one) on a single disc and still play it from your LT through your TV as long as you have an Audio/Video amp.

    Cheers,

    Pete
     
  3. bobsatguy

    bobsatguy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I doubt you will find that this works at all, there
    is a thing called encryption, unless movie is not copy writed,which is rare. You could use an exteral burner after you decrypt the movie, and or shrink it to size.
     
  4. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Hi bobsatguy, welcome to aD,

    Hi there Bob. Let me ask you this, if you hook a DVD recorder to a TV can it record whatever is on the TV ? Of course it can - and if we have a DVD player, can we play a DVD to the TV ? Why of course we can.

    Now, without telling someone how to wire something up to compromise a DVD's copyright, can we say to just wire the recorder to the player ? Those who can think for themselves can work out something while those who cannot think for themselves are left with -

    Yea, I thought you'd see it that way - I figured you for one of the guys in the first group -

    Cheers,

    Pete
     
  5. bobsatguy

    bobsatguy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry to say pete your an idoit, dvd recorders cannot record from the tv, they would record from a built in tuner,catv or vhf/uhf. dvds other than the home movie's you made won't even attempt to record a movie.the question had to do with duping a dvd,not recording friends
     
  6. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116




    bobsatguy,


    Of course you're right. I was referring to the outputs on the back of the TV where a VHS and a DVD recorder may be plugged in. Not some phantom connection from the picture tube. On the rear of a TV (I cannot believe I have to explain this in detail) there are also inputs where again, a VHS, laser disc and a DVD Player may be plugged in.

    Now, just as you can't copy commercially made videotapes to another VCR due to Macrovision anti-copy encoding, the same applies to making copies to DVD. DVD recorders cannot bypass the anti-copy signal on commercial VHS tapes or DVDs. If a DVD recorder detects the anti-copy encoding on a commercial DVD it will not start the recording and display some sort of message either on screen or on its LED front panel display that it detects the anti-copy code or that it is detecting an unusable signal.

    HOWEVER, playing a DVD through the TV (and perhaps through a RF Modulator) one would think that the "anti-copy signal" would be effectively filtered out hence the recorder would then see the bare line signal. A signal, stripped of it's interactive functions and menu functions (and it's "anti-copy signal" too ?) and thus be able to record that signal just as it would record a bare-bones signal from a cable, satellite or antenna signal.

    Are you saying that plugging a DVD recorder into the output of a TV after the signal has passed through a tuner or, as I needed to do, through a RF modulator when dealing with VHS tapes, will not enable you to record a DVD movie being played through the TV from a DVD player ? Can this "anti-copyright" signal be so resistant to signal transfers that it follows the stripped DVD movie signal on forever in a day ? Why then do we lose the interactive functions and the menu functions of the DVD ? When dealing with copyright VHS signals, their anti-copyright signal is stripped when signals are transferred from RCA to DVD for instance, what makes the DVD signal so resistant ?

    I don't have a DVD recorder and so have no first-hand knowledge of it - I'm only aware of what I saw here in a forum thread, Ohhhh so long ago, could you please elucidate -

     
  7. bobsatguy

    bobsatguy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, but that does not remove encoding.I've been in A/V biz for 23 years,started w/big dish's. Some VHS tapes could be recorded in this fashion, however no dvd's w/ css code work this way. I have 2 DVD's modulated that can't be recorded by my dvd recorder on modulated ch's or thru my studio monitor thru vid. out.The dvd recorder even tells me it's copy protected.Works fine for home movies, but nothing else.Didn't mean to be snippy,sorry
     
  8. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    No sweat there Bob,

    I have done it with VHS tapes and, several months ago, in another forum, a couple of pple told me that they had done the same things with a DVD. –

    Not to worry, it's not the first time some pple have spouted BS in a forum BUT as I had done something similar with Tapes I thought, "Hey, why not ?" If you have been, "in the business", then you'll know about using an FM trap (or two) on a cable for certain purposes that filter out a certain "ending pulse" and so once again, it's why I believed the DVD information.

    Now I know that it can't be done –

    Thanks,

    Pete

    We live and learn here at aD.


     
  9. Judodan

    Judodan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    I'm not sure that I understand that... I'm trying to copy a protected tape to DVD (save space) and can't figure out how to do it.

    I have an LG DVD-Recorder/VCR combo, and even going from an external VCR, it doesn't allow me to tape it. I tried to follow Pete's idea, but couldn't figure it out. I'm fairly new to A/V, but not computers.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  10. forkndave

    forkndave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    You need a video stabilizer between the VCR and DVD recorder. This will remove the macrovision protection. I bought one for about $50.00 and it works o.k. Just do a Google search for video stabilizer and you should find several. You'll probably have to do this with a seperate VCR.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2004
  11. kevinjs

    kevinjs Guest

    i installed shrink & decrypter as per ScubaPete's directions. all is well. trouble is, i have a home entertainment recorder, which i have figured out how to record from the computer. But, i must play the decrypted movie on the laptop. windows media and others will not play it because it is "ISO"format. how can i just play the movie now that it is on my computer.when i set it up. should i not have used the ISO? i am not too techi, so please have patience with me. i guess i will have to buy an external recorder.
     

Share This Page