1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copy Protection Error with Van Helsing?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by merlin379, Nov 5, 2004.

1. merlin379

merlin379 Member

Hi Ive been using dvd shrink and nero to make copys for several months with no problems. Today Ive encountered a problem trying to backup Van Helsing. My error message is: Failed to read file "F:\" , Copy Protection Error- The read failed because the sector is encrypted.

Like I say Ive never had any problems before and cant seem to get around this. Im using the latest version of DVD Shrink. Anyone else having this problem or know how to fix it?

2. cruester

cruester Member

Use DVD Decrypter to decrypt it (in File mode) then use DVD Shrink like you normally would.

3. JoshB

JoshB Member

Replace the unreference material box with a still image..I assume this is happening when encoding!

4. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi merlin379, welcome to aD,

You should always keep DVD Decrypter around when using DVD Shrink. For a backup ripper it's great AND for a default burner if you want a change from Nero, it can't be beat - The price is right too - like, how can you beat FREE ? ?

http://www.dvddecrypter.com/

When ripping in the "Default" setting doesn't seem to be doing the job, go to "Tools", "Settings", "File" "Mode" then "tick" Remove PUO's" . If you're ripping in the "ISO", "Read", "Mode" "tick" "Remove PUO's" there also. IMPORTANT: While you're here, go to the "I/O" tab and in the bottom right-hand side "tick" "Ignore read errors," an excellent setting when working with a disc with a corrupt file or two then click "OK" and endeavor to rip again.

BTW, I like ripping in the "ISO", "Read", "Mode" then use "File", "Open disc Image" in DVD Shrink to open the ISO image then process as usual.

Enjoy,

Pete

Last edited: Nov 6, 2004
  5. RicTheRed

RicTheRed Guest

Scubapete,