1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copy vhs to dvd

Discussion in 'Resource center' started by nana82, Jan 16, 2005.

1. nana82

nana82 Member

I have many vhs tapes (and of course, a vhs player) which I want to copy to dvd. I have a Sony DVD writer and Xcopy Platinum. How do I proceed and do I need another product to make these work?

2. sherijl

sherijl Guest

I am also trying to copy my store-bought VHS tapes to a DVD recorder to preserve what I paid for. When I try to copy them, it gives me a "recording prohibited" reading. How can I do this, I am also a newbie at all this. I have found a few products that say they work, but does anyone have any input on one particular product? And, do they really work to remove the copy protection?

3. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

Here is some of the basic things to get started. You will need a video card or capture device of some type with RCA video and audio input jacks on it to hook the VCR outputs to. The card or capture device usually will come with some software to get the VHS tape onto the HD. Home movies are not copy protected so this next item is for store bought movie tapes. You need a Macrovision remover or stablizer that has to go in the video line between the VCR and capture device to remove the copy guard. They cost between $50.---$100. Just do a Google search for Macrovision removers and you should get several hits on it. Once set up, you capture the vhs tape to your HD. It will usually end up in AVI file format. This needs converted to proper DVD format before it can be burned as a DVD. Here is a guide for that part.
    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/convert_avi_to_dvd.cfm
    The AVI to DVD conversion can also be done with NeroVisionExpress or DVD Santa. This should get you started in the right direction. It takes time and has several steps but can be done. Good luck.

Jerry

4. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member