1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying a Copy

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by hayden, Mar 2, 2004.

  1. hayden

    hayden Guest

    Hello, I own the movie sleepy hollow paid the twenty for a disc that began to skip only after a few viewings. I was able to save the movie by using DVD X Rescue. But Like the smart guy I am I burned the copy on to crappy medium. And now my original is have major problems with being recognized. Basically can you make a copy of a copy...
     
  2. Ketale

    Ketale Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi Hayden,

    You're problem has a very easy solution. Use DVD Decrypter in ISO-mode. First read an image of the disc to harddrive by choosing "ISO->read", then write the image to a new disc by choosing "ISO->write".


    Hope this helps!
     
  3. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Your copy is already decrypted. Just use any copy disc program in any of the burner programs like Nero, Recordnox Max or Roxio. They will all work if the copy is in good condition.
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2004
  4. Ketale

    Ketale Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't know about DVD X Rescue, but at least DVD X Copy creates its own "copy-protection" to the copy, which prevents it from being copied again with a simple copy method. Being also a 321Studios product, DVD X Rescue might also create similar copypreventers, I don't know. But anyway, the ISO mode in DVD Decrypter will also make copies of backups made with 321 Studios products.
     
  5. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    DVD backups made with X copy software are only a problem if you try to re copy them with X copy again. I have re-copied X copy backups with no problem using the simple disc copy programs. My original backups were made with Express 3.2.1. Should't be a problem unless they changed their software within the last 3-4- months.

    Jerry
     
  6. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    You can use most burning programs to back up a DVD-R (+R)

    I myself use DVD Decrypter (ISO Read/Write) as it takes no longer than Nero anyway...
     
  7. ispy

    ispy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ketale:
    I agree with Jerry 746,Ive recopied loads with Nero Recode 2,in fact you can get rid of the 321 WARNING screen when you recopy discs made prior to the 321 Gone screen removal tool from PsiDoc.Its dead easy to do as well. Cheers Ispy
     
  8. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Best thing is to not use any 321 Studios products then you wont have to circumvent whatever restrictions !! ;-)
     
  9. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hey Herb, I like your new trademark icon. Like you said, Just don't use X copy. Too many better ways of doing a backup. And now with the ripper removed, its not worth any money.

    Jerry
     
  10. Ketale

    Ketale Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks guys, I just had read on the forums that many people had difficulties copying backups made with X Copy (like this thread for example http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/69338), but I guess they tried to do the recopying with X Copy again or the problem was somewhere else. Well, you learn every day! ;)
     

Share This Page