1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

copying a copy

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by newton29, Apr 1, 2004.

  1. newton29

    newton29 Guest

    i know this might sound a really stupid question, but is it the same process to copy a copy as it would be to copy an original??

    i have the following programmes, nero 6, shrink dvd, clonedvd.

    Which would be the best programme to use??

    Thanks for your help

    Chris
     
  2. daba

    daba Guest

    Hi Chris,

    No need of DVD Shrink or CloneDVD to do a copy of a copy.

    Download and install DVD Decrypter (freeware). Read the copy in ISO mode and then write the new copy in ISO mode.
     
  3. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    or you could just do a disc to disc copy using nero(if you have a dvd rom drive)
     
  4. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you can use CloneDVD, since its not CSS encrypted it will copy it in no time and theres no need to use AnyDVD etc

    and no it is different copying a copy then it is to copy an original

    original = CSS encrypted, usually over 7 gigabytes

    Copy(Backup) = under 5 gigabytes - not encrypted

    lol, happy burning

    Dean
     
  5. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ive copied my backups before and all i used was my dvd rom drive,my dvd burner, and nero.
    if thats not what you meant,then i misunderstood your post sorry
     
  6. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    lol, none of us were wrong mate, he just asked for a little bit more info. not just opinions and Grade A Quality Advice ;D

    Dean
     
  7. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok so using nero to copy a backup,you lose quality?
    tell me please because i didnt realize that was the case.
     
  8. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    [bold]WHAT??[/bold] Who said that?
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Hey

    This Site Rocks[/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2004
  9. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    loner
    i thought thats what you said.
    im not trying to start an arguement here,if i wanted that, i can just go back to the, dvdr backups a waste of time thread.lol

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]you should never take life too seriously....you'll never get out of it alive!!
    if you can read this..you dont need glasses.[/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2004
  10. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    lol, neither do i

    i know what you mean by the DVDr backups a waste a time thread

    i was simply saying because it is what i use and am very familiar with is that he can use his cloneDVD for a disc to disc copy

    all arguements averted *Check*

    Dean
     
  11. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok,so now i need to know,do you lose quality when you copy a backup?
    youve been doing it longer than i so i figure you can tell me.
     
  12. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    (Feelin' like the teacher who just walked out into the school yard - )

    Yo there Jimbo, Dean - play nice there kids -

    Either CloneDVD or Nero are fine -

    Are we forgetting that we're not having to compress or process anything ? We just take what's on pile "A" and move it to pile "B".

    Kind of like being in the military :)

    (there're both such nice kids, they just have ta share the Newbies)

    Hi there Chris, Welcome to our little Club -

    Both programs are "Greattttt" like Tony the Tiger would say, - try'em both, decide which ya like better -

    Pete

     
  13. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    lol, u probably know more than me how long you been backing up your DVD's for?

    no you dont lose quality when backing up copys, unless your a complete dolt with anti-virus and a firewall running in the background while playing a game ;D

    Dean

     
  14. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    uncle scubapete,your the greatest
    you always make me laugh lmao

    loner,ive only been doing this since christmas 2003,i never stop learning from you guys.
    Nope i try not to even look funny at my puter when its burning.

    thanks all welcome to the hood newton29
    jim
     
  15. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    lol, youve been doing it longer then me

    and no i wasent implying that you personally do that like play games while its doing it and stuff, lol i just meant that is probably the only way u get a bad copy of a backup ;D

    Dean
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Hey

    This Site Rocks[/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2004

Share This Page