1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying a DVD the real way???

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by jantman, Sep 28, 2004.

1. jantman

jantman Member

I'm relatively new to the whole consumer side of the DVD thing. I used to work in video production, and the place that I worked at had a DVD authoring machine which burned DVDs in realtime from video. I never really was too interested in how it worked. If you wanted to copy a DVD - any DVD, regardless of copy protection - you just popped it into the computer, hit "duplicate", and put in a blank when it asked for it.

So, here's my question. There are lots of great guides on this site, but I'm looking for a bit more...

1) Is the DVD disc or drive which records a 6.xx Gb DVD (movie on DVD) any different from common consumer recorders and discs? IF yes, how so, and how does a person buy one? I know they have duplicating towers.

2) There's all this copy protection stuff. Well, I never buy that, because I'm a programmer. I have a DVD with a series of billions of 1s and 0s on it. What the hell is preventing me from copying that entire disc, as a bit scream, onto my hard drive? And then, back onto another disc?

Thanks!

2. HelloWrld

HelloWrld Member

Hey jantman-