1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying mini dvd discs to regular dvd-r

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mikekirby, Dec 14, 2004.

1. mikekirby

mikekirby Member

Hi everyone

I'm having real problems with this one. I've got a Sony DVD DCR 201E camcorder, a new computer with 160 GB hard drive, Pixela ImageMixer software that came with the 201E and Nero 6.

When I save the video footage to my hard drive directly from the camcorder using the software, it saves ok and plays back with picture and sound from the hard drive using either media player, real player, quick time etc. However, when I burn it onto a DVD-RW using Nero, only the picture plays back (on both the computer and my dvd player). No sound whatsoever. What am I doing wrong? Is it possible to burn with sound?

I'm running out of ideas. Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Try not to get too technical though coz I'm a newbie. Laymans terms if poss.

Mike.

2. scf_au

scf_au Regular member

Dear Mike,
    I have the same camcorder, so I'm obliged to give some suggestions! *_*
    What I would usually do is to put the mini disc into the burner (after all, that's why we bought this model, right?), and use ImageMixer to extract the video clips to the harddisk. The resulting video clips would be in mpeg format. Then in Nero StartSmart, choose 'make your own DVD video', click 'add video files', find and paste the mpegs one by one, then follow the lead to complete the whole compilation. You may also create a slide show of the still pictures and put it in the same compilation. Needless to say, you can also create other audio and visual effects too.
    Why not try this method and tell us how it goes?

3. mikekirby

mikekirby Member