1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

copying only certain scenes

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by zatzteve, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. zatzteve

    zatzteve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i want to creat 'best of' dvd's. I want to be able to copy say scene 4 from movie 1 and scene 2 from movie 2 and scene 8 from movie 3(dvd) and create one dvd with olny those chosen scenes on.

    Is this possible with the software I bought.....dvdXcopy platinum?

    If so how is it done?

    Thanks
     
  2. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    dvd shrink will do that, click reauthor and input the 3 dvds and then cut out what you dont want on all 3 one at a time...

    then backup to the files needed and burn

    this app is free!
     
  3. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  4. zatzteve

    zatzteve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for detailed reply.

    I will get on with it!!!
     
  5. zatzteve

    zatzteve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If I do that I see the movie is shown as title 2 and is massive....the whole movie.. How do I edit out the scenes I want and then put them onto a dvd like described before....

    What am I missing here!?

    Thanks
     
  6. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    reverse technique you take out what you dont want!

    say the bit you need is dead center find the start of it with top bar and find the end of it on bottom bar then click ok,

    it will take at first part and the part after!

    move top slider forward to the bit you want!

    move bottom slider backwards to the end of the bit you want!

    ==================

    you dont cut out your bit needed you leave that in!

    you take out before and after to leave the center bit to process with the next 3 parts!

     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2005
  7. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    also if you want 6 parts of 1 dvd you load the dvd 6 times to leave the parts only you want!

    drag it over 6 times!!!
     
  8. zatzteve

    zatzteve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, I did what you said...

    Copy (drag) the main part of movie to the left and then click the SetStart/End Frames. I chose the scene I wanted and began the encoding to my hard drive. What was the purpose of the chapter seletion there? ..I left it blank!

    It says Backup coplete...
    DVD has finished backing up your dvd.
    All output files are now ready for burning with appropriate DVD burning software

    I save it to my hard drive with the audio and video files. The Audio files are blank ...... and I tried to view the clip with windows media player but it crashed it and the same happened when I tried to view it with powerdvd!

    What is the next step?
    Do I keep saving the clips I want to the same folder as I just created (C:/dvdclips/) and then When I have enough what is the next step for burning them all to a blank dvd?

    Should I have chosen the chapter option when I was creating the clip form the main movie?

    thanks
     
  9. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    you got me with audio and video files?

    you should have vob/ifo/bup thats 3 types of file the audio and video are in the same vob file! if you see it you should hear it to!

    i will try one here to test this! back in 5
     
  10. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    yup i just did 4 bits from same dvd film and they play fine with sound in powerdvd!
     
  11. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    you did rip the 3 dvd films to 3 separate folders and not untick the sound for them?

     
  12. zatzteve

    zatzteve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where do you tick for video!

    What I tried was this...

    I saved the file I just created here
    Select backup target = Hard disk folder
    (should I not select the iso image file?)

    Select Target folder for dvd output files =c:dvde

    No dice!
     
  13. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    you can output to a single ISO image if you know your reauthoring is good to go! if you dont if worth outputting to files in a folder

    so as you can click the vobs to test them!

    now back to the first part the 3 dvd films you have did you rip them to 3 separate folders? if so do the vobs play with sound in them?

    =================================

    tell me did you put the iso in powerdvd to play? if so thats wrong!
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2005
  14. zatzteve

    zatzteve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What I tried to view was one of the .VOB files that are located in the VIDEO_TS file that shrink created. The audio folder is still empty.
    It worked (with sounf)for about 2 minutes then it crashed the windows media player!
    I get error code 80070002 with power dvd.

    This is odd!!
     
  15. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    the audio folder is not needed at all!

    only video folder..

    i dont know what to say as i just tried what i told you and it works ok!

    sorry...
     

Share This Page