1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

copying pc games

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by twins2, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi i've been trying to backup some of my pc games.
    to keep the twins quiet on two computers. its keeps
    coming up disc protected. i'm running on XP,nero 6.
    someone told me about clone xl, but can't find the
    site anywear. any help
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Moved.

    Backing up protected PC games isn't exactly a simple procedure. To make a working copy you need to use specialized software and use a burner that has the right burning characteristics. Here's a link to a thread that'll give you a rough idea of what's involved:

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/117498


    What make/model burner do you plan to use?


    The first thing you can do is download A-Ray Scanner to identify the protections we'll be up against. The Clonny XXL that you're referring to is a protection scanner that hasn't been updated in a while so it's usefulness is quite diminished. Here's a link to A-Ray:

    http://nephilim.ccsau.info/A-Ray2_Setup.exe


    Post back with your make/model of drive and the protections we're dealing with and we'll go from there :)
     
  3. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi thanks for answering. please understand i'm new to all this jargon,
    information from disc The sims
    safedisc 2/3
    safedisc1.40.004.detected ->d:\dplayerx.dll
    my computer is a E Machine3230
    80gb
    dvd+/-rw
    256mb
    xp windows
    nero 6
    shrink 3.2
     
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    There's definitely alot of jargon to learn isn't there? :)

    Ok, we still need to get the exact make/model of your drive. Since you have Nero 6 it'll be easy. All you have to do is go into Nero Tool Kit from the Start Smart panel then run Nero Info Tool. The make/model of your drive will be listed in the drop down menu at the top as well as under the Configuration tab.

    This is important because not all burners can make a working copy of protected games and the number of DVD burners that can do this is even smaller.


    To give you a better understanding of what I'm talking about I'll explain a couple things. Unlike burning DVDs where the protection is stripped out, burning protected PC games involves having to read the protection then write it back to the disc - both of which need to be done very accurately. Not all burners are able to write the protections accurately enough to make a working copy......

    When you try to run a protected game it needs to perform a "handshake" of sorts between the disc and the game on your hard drive to verify that the disc is legitimate. If the protection is written back to the disc accurately enough it'll pass the handshake and you have what's known as a "working" copy. If the copy is less than perfect the handshake will fail because the copy protection will detect that there's something fishy with the copy. In that case you can use emulation tools which basically help the disc pass the handshake process.


    It's a bit of a challenge but with the right hardware, software and a little know-how you can get your copies to work one way or another :)
     
  5. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hope this is what we need,
    DRIVER INFORMATION
    FILE SYSTEM: 32\drivers\at api.sys
    DESCRIPTION IDE/ATAPI PORT DRIVER
    VERSION 5.1.2600.116[XPSP1.020828-1920,[is this nero 6]?
    PROVIDER Microsoft Corporation
    D:\-NEC DVD-RW ND-2500A
    FOR GOT TO TELL YOU COMPUTER IS PENTIUM 4
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ok, so we're dealing with an NEC-2500A. Unfortunately it's not an EFM capable drive so we're probably not going to be able to make a working copy. I belive we may be able to make a copy with Alcohol 120% with its emulation options enabled.

    Here's a link to a thread where geestar20 posted some screenshots and instructions:

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/133549


    I'm not well versed in the workings of Alcohol 120% since I rerely use it but if we need more help with it let me know and I can pm both geestar20 and pollushon who both know the ins and outs of A120 :)
     
  7. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for taking time out to help us,
    will have a look for geestar& A120%
     
  8. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You have any questions Ill be in here looking :)
     
  9. camstuf

    camstuf Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 14, 2004
  10. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks Geestar and Camstuf,
    i'm trying to make a copy of The Sims,[not sims 2]
    all information about my computer is as above,
    I need to be able to back up disc's so kids can just
    load PC Games, and not start looking for different
    programs,
    I 've read up about Alcohol 120 %,
    Have i got to enabled emulation every time we want to
    play a backup game.
     
  11. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You do not need to enable emulation for every game you back up, but just leave it enabled just to be safe
     
  12. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi geestar, i did your help again, i've copied the
    game sims deluxe, all works find on new PC, COPY AND
    original, but can't get copy to work on old PC,
    I downloaded alcohol 52% & 120% on to my old PC and
    tick box's in emulation but the copy game well not work any help,
    Old PC is a pentium 3 running in windows 98 SE
     
  13. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    The fact that the copy doesn't work on the other PC may have to do with the actual drive in the old PC. Some drives can't properly read an PC game backup. What make/model drive refused to read the backup?
     
  14. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi nephilim. thanks for answering, my old PC is a
    pentium 3 450 running on wins 98 SE 256mb,if you did
    more information on my PC, could you direct me where to find this information.
    the back up game starts up but crashes, then a error
    message comes up saying something about a module
    -DF394B.TMP file.
    i installed the game from the original disc.
    would that make a difference.
     
  15. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Sure sounds to me like the drive in your older PC is having a tough time reading the copy especially since the copy works perfectly in your main PC.

    At what speed did you read and write the copy?
     
  16. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    read & write back up copy's in 4x,
    today tried reading back up in 4x
    then writing it in 32x times same thing happen
    what do you recommend.
     
  17. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well, I always resommend reading and writing at 4X, especially the write. Have you tried reinstalling the game from the original then trying the copy again? What happens if you try to run the game with the original?
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  18. twins2

    twins2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    YES YES!!!!!!!!!!!,afther blood sweat and tears.
    you crack it read & write at 4x load game with
    back up copy all games work, can't thank you enough.
     

Share This Page