1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying Program Files

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by shirley11, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. shirley11

    shirley11 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just need a bit of help!!!

    I am going to format my hard drive and re-install windows. Is it possible to copy the program files folder and paste onto the new windows partition without having to install them all over again?

    Cheers.
    Leigh
     
  2. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No it isn't. When you install a program in Windows it makes changes to the registry, ie it registers certain files and sets up shortcuts, start menu entries and file associations, all these would be missing if you just copied the program files folder over.
     
  3. shirley11

    shirley11 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is there any other way round it then so i dont have to re-install everything?
     
  4. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Unfortunately, no. Not since Windows 3.0.
     
  5. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you have a problem with Windows, which led you to think you needed to do a reinstall, you could try fixing the problem. As you have not given any indication of why you wish to reinstall, it is not possible at this time to give any more advice than that.


     
  6. shirley11

    shirley11 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have installed windows Vista, but I am getting a lot of compatability issues with hardware and software so i want to re-install XP.
     
  7. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Well, you will definitely, certainly, absolutely have to reinstall all of your programs again if you decide to go back to Windows XP. That's the only answer you will get, because that's the only answer there is.
     
  8. shirley11

    shirley11 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok thanks.
     

Share This Page