1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying Time Question

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by headcase, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. headcase

    headcase Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I really need some help. I do full backups on my discs. I use the maximum smoothness setting. But on discs needing a lot of compression this is taking me around 3 hours to backup. I need to know if its worth the time. Will backing up without the quality enhancements make that big of a difference in picture quality(pixlating and things)?
     
  2. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes [my opinion]
    It depends some on the DVD. If it is just a long DVD [time] then maybe not, but if it needs the compression do to the content then yes.

    Buy some RW disc and try the DVD both ways and see for yourself.

    I started out backing up the whole DVD but now I just do the main movie, sub in english and DTS [5.1 if there is no DTS].
     
  3. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  4. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    3 hours is too long, it only took me 45 minutes to backup King Kong (movie only) which was a long movie requiring quite abit of compression. As 300bowler suggested, check your drive's DMA/PIO settings and make sure all drives are set for DMA mode.

    Yes, especially for backups requiring alot of compression, but you won't really notice unless the scene is a fast moving one.

    Here's a rule-of-thumb guide for the AEC setting in shrink on various compression levels:

    @90-99.9% - Max Sharp
    @80-90% - Default Sharp
    @65-80% - Smooth
    @<65% - Max Smooth
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2007
  5. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    When you're talking about 30% and higher compression,I can see the difference. No pixellation or playback issues,but if I look carefully at the screen,I see a square blockiness in the background when I unticked Max smooth or Max sharp.

    I just did entire disc of Babel,including english subtitles and ac3 5.1 ch english only and still had 45+% compression. Using Max sharpness,it took 2 hrs,but my copy looks identical to the original.

    My TV is a 32" picture tube. 10% compresion,I use no AEC enhancements.

    Entire discs: I only use them for special movies,usually porn, LOL. I don't desire the bonus footage on reg dvds,but I can't leave out any porno bonus coverage!!!

    headcase: If you went the dual layer route,you'd cut that process time in half using dvd decrypter and Imgburn. Decrypter is less of a strain on your pc,meaning the processor speed doesn't affect it as much as dvd shrink does.

    Same goes for single layer and doing main movie only. Less compression,less likely to need the AEC enhancements,and a quicker backup.

    Use high quality media and it'll prevent a lot of playback issues.
     
  6. headcase

    headcase Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks everyone for all the advice. I tried the DMA trick and still too around 3 hours to do Prestige. But I do complete backups with menu and all the extras. I have a 2.0 Ghz Celeron Processor with a G of ram. Oh well, quality takes time I guess. Thanks anyway.
     
  7. hamillp

    hamillp Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Saugmon:

    I think I wet myself I was laughing so hard at your explanation of doing full backups on your porn. I certainly wasn't expecting that as I was reading. Thanks for the laugh.
     
  8. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hamillp: I'm a perv, LOL. Any threads with the word porn in it,I'm all over it, LOL.

    Afterdawn/Search/Porn/all forums and whoola! LMAO

    Since the many years dvd been out,the bonus features for reg films don't even appeal to me. Main movie only,AC3 5.1 english only,and cut out all the beginning and ending BS.

    headcase:

    2.0 ghz is pretty decent for the times you are getting. Take notice of the compression tab and notice when that number drops,so does your process time.

    You may wanna try shutting down all your background programs during the dvd backup process.This will help free up some resources. Dvd shrink will use approx 95%+ of your processor,anything kicking on in the background will make it take a little longer.

    Another stick of ram also helps,if you have an empty slot.

    I've done some nice backups using my dad's old 1.6 ghz compaq and times were a little longer than my athlon 3000+ pc.
     
  9. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @ Headcase,

    Have u cleaned out ur PC in a while? if not u could try and get all the dust out and see if that helps.

    BTW, has it always been that long while using shrink?

    people also say its a little faster when the output folder/file is on the same HD too.
     
  10. headcase

    headcase Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah its always been that way. When I first started using it I didnt use the enhancement tools. I'm ok with the time, just wanted to make sure it was worth it.
     
  11. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    By any chance do u have Nero?

    If so, its better if u use Nero recode, jus cuz it is twice as fast as shrink.
     

Share This Page