1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

copying Warcraft 3

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by SMO6, Jan 27, 2003.

  1. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I want to do it. I found a CDKey generator for it and copied the game onto a CDR. The game installed fine but when I try and play I get an error. The error is the same one I get when I forget to put the disc in the CD-ROM drive.

    Hints? Tips?
     
  2. TeddyKGB

    TeddyKGB Guest

    Not sure we're allowed to talk about that kind of thing on here, but did you try a "carbon" copy method? Not a file copy but one where you make an exact image of the disc and then burn that image? I've done it with Warcraft 3 and the copy worked.
     
  3. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Carbon copy eh? What application does image you speak of?
     
  4. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    TeddyKGB, we are allowed talk about this here ONLY if you own the original game as it is legal to make a backup of your own games.

    I have one solution and its called Alcohol 120%. First use it to make an image of a cd and then use it to burn the image. While selecting the drive to read from change disk type to "General Protected CD". Also do this when you are burning the image to a blank cd!
     
  5. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Let me clear the air a bit.

    I do own the game.

    Alcohol 120%? Free? I'll see if I can find it.

    Thanks Dela!
     
  6. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I didnt say you didnt own it!!

    Alcohol 120% isn't free no but you can get a trial of it!
     
  7. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I do own WC3. I've also been known to own others that play the game!

    Alcohol 120%? I thought that kind of thing was for drinking, hahahah! Thanks Dela I'll find it and try it.
     
  8. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just saw all this and had the opportunity to copy it all from my screen. Please notify the webmaster! It showed my IP and my user/pass! This type of bug could be seen as a slight risk!

    *removed*
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2003
  9. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I already did report it. it'll stop soon!
     
  10. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    The debug info was visible only for 15mins, thanks for all who reported it. Fixed.
     
  11. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Dela,

    Using the alcohol program this is what I've done so far:

    Created an image of WC3 (used general protected option you suggested)

    I tried to burn a copy of my game using the same 'general' option you told me about. I get an error when I first start the image buring wizard that says my drive isn't able to make real 1:1 copies.

    Anyway around this?
     
  12. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    God I dunno mate, I haven't had that problem at all!
     
  13. msb5150

    msb5150 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    For the original problem stated, you will need to get the crack to play the cd off the hard drive. The crack is not illegal so I can talk about it here, search for it on google and just play the game off the hard drive. I am assuming that you are playing the game off the hard drive so if you're not, my appologies in advance.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2003
  14. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    When you copy a game with Alcohol 120% you don't need a crack!
     
  15. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Dela,

    Alcohol wouldn't work for me so I guess I need a crack for the game. Also, have you successfully burnt WC3? I'd like to know if you have or not.

    MSB,

    Can you send me a link to the WC3 CD crack? *removed*

    I just looked for the crack and got bombed w/ porn pop-ups @ work! Damn! That'll teach me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2003
  16. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well if Alcohol wont work then i guess a crack is the only option!
     
  17. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Next one asking for cracks will get banned, anyone willing to risk it? Read The F Rules and obey them. No email addresses, no piracy. Very clear.
     
  18. SMO6

    SMO6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oops sorry dude.
     

Share This Page