1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Correct Operations?-fix HDD

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by teroenza, Mar 23, 2007.

1. teroenza

teroenza Member

Hello all,
    I am attempting to fix an xbox for a friend who had someone do a softmod for him. The softmod got corrupted somehow and he tried a howswap.Unfortunately he really didn't know what he was doing and I believe the drive is now locked. I am new to this also and am wondering if I am correct in my assumption that I need to first build the hardware device to get the eeprom and HDD key, then use a hotswap and xplorer360 to write the MS dashboard back to it?
    Thank You
    -ter

2. pads4ever

pads4ever Member

3. teroenza

teroenza Member

Thank you, I had seen that but i'm not sure if the HDD is bricked or not. That's why I was wondering about the need for the eeprom reader.
    Thanks
    -ter

4. steimy

steimy Active member

5. teroenza

teroenza Member

Thank you for the information. I'm still trying to understand the need to either de-solder or build a reader for the eeprom if hotswapping will work. I'll try hotswaping and go from there.
    Thanks
    -ter

6. teroenza

teroenza Member

I have now tried hotswapping numerous times to no avail. I've read the link above "How to Hotswap and recover a HD without an eeprom backup" and the one on making an eeprom reader. Does anyone think these would work or am I out of luck?
    Thanks
    -ter

7. pads4ever

pads4ever Member