1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Corsair Dominator DDR3

Discussion in 'Other PC hardware' started by victor14, Jul 8, 2009.

  1. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I currently have the following specifications:

    Motherboard: ASUS Rampage II EXTREME
    Video: ASUS EAH4870X2
    PSU: Ultra X3 1000 Watt Modular
    RAM: 6.0 GB (no cooler)
    OS: Windows Vista 32-bit SP2
    CPU: i7 920 OC to 3.6GHZ

    I was planning to buy Corsair Dominator DDR3 ram. Is this a good choice and is it compatible with all my specifications. Here is the link:

    Code:
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=020720&cid=RAM.346.539
    and
    Code:
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=020720&cid=RAM.346.539
    Is there a major difference between the two?
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well the two links you've posted are exactly the same page, so of course there's no difference.
  4. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So is the corsair dominator I posted compatible for my system and is it a good choice? Like will it make my system faster?
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Depends what RAM you currently have. I've only just noticed you're actually downgrading from 6GB to 3GB, is that wise? (I would not recommend adding them together as 9GB, for one due to compatibility issues, and for two because using all six slots when some of your RAM has no heatspreader is going to cause stability problems)
  6. killalot

    killalot Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Pointless having 6gig of ram wile running,
    OS: Windows Vista 32-bit SP2

    Vista 32-bit will only see 3gig need 64-bit operating system,but I'm sure you know this already...
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well spotted, yes you will need 64-bit to take advantage of more than 3GB.
  8. killalot

    killalot Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That board in the U K cost £327,of the hard earned pound :( "Jesus" some folk got money to burn,if i brought that board I'm sure the misses would leave me.There's an idea...
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Indeed, there's not even any point in buying anything more than something like an EX58-UD5, you don't gain anything. Trouble is, a lot of people buy the most expensive board simply because it's the most expensive.
  10. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So what is so great about the dominator, like what are the specifications? And is anything better than the dominator that will make my machine run faster than my current ram?
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Since you won't tell us what your existing RAM is, I can't tell you how much better it is.
  12. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so how can I check what ram I have?
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    CPUZ, or just look at the sticks themselves.
  14. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here is the information I got from CPU-Z:

    Module Size: 2048 MB
    Max Bandwidth: PC3-10700H (667 MHZ)
    Manufacturer: Transcend Information
    Part Number: TS256MLK64V3U

    I have (3 x 2GB) of ram in my system currently.
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Pretty standard cheap stuff then. You'll probably see a bit of a performance increase in changing to the corsair, but not a huge difference. A system like that would be better off changing to a 64-bit OS and going for 6GB.
  16. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    However, I am not planning to change my OS to 64-bit so is there anything better than the dominator for my system?
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, it depends what you use your PC for. if you only play games you probably won't be able to tell the difference.
  18. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am also planning to over clock the memory, so about what speeds will it over clock on my system?
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    very little. Memory doesn't overclock very well, if you want faster memory, you buy faster memory.
  20. killalot

    killalot Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    When victor14 has a mortgage and kids,he wont be so keen on his wild spending spree's.If hes got the the kids/mortgage already i want his job. :)











    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  21. victor14

    victor14 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So would you recommend the domnator or would I go for faster memory?

Share This Page