1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU upgrade

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by DOUGHBOY6, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. DOUGHBOY6

    DOUGHBOY6 Guest

    need an opinion.... would it be wise to upgrade to an Intel Core 2 do from an Intel P4 3.0GHz w/ HT tech (also LGA 775)?? clock speed is slower but, will i get better results b/c its dual core??
     
  2. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You will get MUCH better performance. Although you will probably have to change motherboards to get the Core 2 Duo.
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If your motherboard supports it (you'd be lucky if it does), you'll see a huge performance increase. But that's an if.
     
  4. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah, I'm guessing he has one of the older 775 mobos that don't work with core 2 duos.
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Although that said, often a BIOS update will let you use a Core 2 Duo, so it's not totally out of the question.
     
  6. DOUGHBOY6

    DOUGHBOY6 Guest

    but if it's the same socket type there shouldn't be any problem, right? i baught this PC not even a year before the first dual core came out to the market.
     
  7. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Well the Core 2 Duo's need a new power delivery feature, that might not be in your motherboard. Post your motherboard on here and we can check for you.
     
  8. DOUGHBOY6

    DOUGHBOY6 Guest

    alright 915 Express chipset family ( it's a gateway so i don't have high hopes lol)

    thx
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I'd be very surprised if that supported a core 2 duo, i'd say it's nearly certain that it wouldn't. When I say not supported I mean wouldn't work at all, not just would work slower.
     
  10. DOUGHBOY6

    DOUGHBOY6 Guest

    hmm ok then, thank you for your time
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No problem, If I can ever help you upgrade your other components, drop me a PM or make another thread here.
     

Share This Page