1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

creating psx iso

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by verynew1, Sep 18, 2005.

  1. verynew1

    verynew1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey i have the psx disc and i want to create an iso of it...to share and what not any ideas...thanks...joe
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. zyw

    zyw Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If it's a psx and not a ps2 disk, read it with cdrwin or nero. You'll need to adjust some settings. The result will be an iso of the game.
  4. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    To create an backup of a PSX games using Alcohop 120%, do the follwing: 1. Put in your original disc, then Open Alcohol 120% 2. Open the image making wizard 3. Select your burner, set the datatype to customize. 4. Set the read speed to 1x. 5. Check these options : Skip reading errors, Fast Skip error blocks (assuming your burner supports this feature), Read sub Channel Data from the current disc. 6. Hit next 7. Select a Path for the newly created image and click start. it'll take about 45 mins for the image to finish. 8. To burn your backup open Alcohol 120%, and click on image burning wizard. 9. Set the datatype to playstation, choose your recorder, and set the write speed low (no higher than 4x). Set the write method to DAO/SAO and click next. Your backup should be ready in 20 mins or so. This method works for me about 90% of the time. Of course you will need a mod chip or boot CD to play your backup.
  5. verynew1

    verynew1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    all right thanks but are ISOs supposed to be like 600mb?
  6. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yes it isn't uncommon for a PSX ISO (keep in mind the suffix will vary depending on which program you use to create the image e.g. Nero-nrg, Alcohol or DVD encrypter-mds) to be around 600 MB's. In fact the biggest can be well over 700 MB's.
  7. ThePit

    ThePit Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok I have Done everything to a T and still get the whole insert a playstation disk. I am using a modchip (it plugs into the serial port on the back) and with it I can't get it to recognize it. I am using alcohol 120% to do this. Thanks for any help.
  8. zyw

    zyw Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alcohol might be the problem. I've used it and everything looked normal until I went to load and it doesn't work. I use cdrwin to read cd rom games and Nero to write.
  9. ThePit

    ThePit Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just tried the same disc I made with 120% with a action replay and it still didn't work. I'll try reading with cdrwin and burning with nero.
  10. boobooman

    boobooman Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i use an old version of 120 and it will let me make a plain iso
    some people say the new version just make an mds file
  11. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah the newer version of Alcohol will create an mds and an mdf file. That is largely irrelevant, because the image will be identical when burned to disk, if it's burned properly, regardless which program you use. What kind of modchip plugs into the serial port? Do you mean a HD loader? The disk might be scratched if that method doesn't work. You can try using Nero, CDRWIN, or Clone CD. I have used all of them to create successful PSX backups.
  12. ThePit

    ThePit Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My Modchip is a "PS Hacker". I made 3 disc and they all work in my ps1 emulator with no problem. When I put it in my ps1 it goes straight to the cd player and memory card screen. I had heard that the ps1 will look for some corrupted data in the first part of the game disc. If the ps1 doesn't see this data then it won't load. is this true or false? Thanks. ThePit
  13. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Not sure if it's true, never heard that before. Most likely your just not burning them correctly. Just because the emulator boots it doesn't mean anything. Burn using Alcohol 120% using this guide: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/236278
  14. boobooman

    boobooman Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i know what you mean its one of those little boxs that plug into the back of the old(by old i mean one of the first psx) psx are you sure u are using it right
  15. ThePit

    ThePit Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes the psx I am using is probably at least 10 years old. My modchip is a black box about 2 inches by 3 inches, and it just says MOD CARTRIDGE. When you first turn the psx on depending on what you hav it switched to it will simply say start or will take you to a menu with several different options. It has a serial I\O that goes into the psx and on the backside it has a serial port that could go to a computer. I thought I might try to hack a disc by plugging it into my computer and seeing what happens. Is there anyone out there who has this same modchip. Also it came with a spring so you could use the swap method. I don't see the purpose of having backups if you have to have the original in order to play it. Can anyone help me with this, or has information. Thanks "The Pit".
  16. boobooman

    boobooman Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah the spring is put under the lid to stop the psx knowing you swaped the disk cant remember how to boot tho
  17. ThePit

    ThePit Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Still whats the point od swapping the disk. You still have to have the original. Its just stupid. I guess I might have to just give up. Does anybody know how to make a disc that will bootup without a chip. if only there was a way to let the psx bios bootup so that you could dump the disc onto your comp.
  18. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No you don't have to have the original to Swap discs. You can use Breaker Pro to boot backups for the PSX. It works on the PSX and the PS2. I use to use it with a flip top on my PS2, and it works great. It comes with the spring you need to use install on the PSX lid. You can pick it up for $20. http://breakerpro.com/
  19. ThePit

    ThePit Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I will say this Tok, you are either a genius or you just have alot of time on your hands. I will get that breaker pro if you say it works. Thanks for all your help, and everybody else for that matter. I appreciate everything.
  20. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Thanks. I'm no genius, I just read a lot. Hopefully I'll be spending less time answering replies and more time playing games when I get my Matrix working.
  21. ThePit

    ThePit Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have heard that the very first version of clone cd would make an exact duplicate (boot and all) but the game and movie industry made them put certain things into all newer versions to not not allow this. anyone everheard this. Also does anyone have the very first version? All will be rewarded!

Share This Page