1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Crystal Chips Firmware problem

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by somedude9, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. somedude9

    somedude9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have installed a crystal chip in my PS2 and it works great! i want to update the firmware and when i put the disk in the drive it acts like it is going to load but then the screen goes black. am i doing something wrong?
     
  2. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Go to firmware settings and choose firmware upgrade. Choose upgrade by disc. I think it should work it's something in the firmware settings.
     
  3. somedude9

    somedude9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When i boot the ps2 up it boots up like a normal ps2, with the sony computer entertainment screen and all. The only difference is now i can play my backups.
     
  4. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Even if you don't have BootManager installed you can still run backups. However it is recomendded that you do have BootManager installed.
     
  5. somedude9

    somedude9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ya, I was going to use it to play EMUs and ROMS. Do you know how to update it?
     
  6. yojacks

    yojacks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what brand disc are u using and what burning software are u using and what what speed?and where did u download the firmware?and are u burning the .cue or .bin because u should burn the .cue.
     
  7. somedude9

    somedude9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am using Office Max CD's.... I am embarrased. But i have some sony that hasnt been opened yet. I am using DVD Decrypter as the burner at 4x and i am burning the .CUE file.
     
  8. somedude9

    somedude9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh and i am getting the latest firmware from Crystal Chips Website
     
  9. yojacks

    yojacks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well i found ur problem. the firmware from the crystal chips website doesn't load backups that's the official firmware u need the hacked firmware. i don't know if giving out links is allowed so you'll have to google it. the latest version is r34 but i recommend looking for jones23 hacked r34 release just put this into google and it should be the first link that pops up it should be from psx-scene.com. put this into google

    "jones23 hacked firmware r34"

    and burn the .cue file at 4x with the sonys and all should load well and if u need further help feel free to ask again.
     
  10. yojacks

    yojacks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh and one more thing don't use dvd decryptor for cds use imgburn it's just like dvd decryptor but it only burns images and is constantly updated. and remember to get jones23 release since monor bugs have been fixed by jones23 in the r34 release.
     
  11. somedude9

    somedude9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sweet thank you!
     
  12. yojacks

    yojacks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so did it work the way u want
     

Share This Page