1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CTRL + F11 does not allow system restore

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by team59, May 25, 2014.

  1. team59

    team59 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, I have a Dell 3000 series computer with window XP, that got the Blue Screen Of Death problem and I decided to do a system restore. In the past, when I press CTRL and F11, it took me to the restore page and I could do it. But this time, when I go to that page, where the upper part has a button for you to click to restore, and the lower part has a button to reboot. The mouse did not appear. When I use the keyboard to move up and down, it took me to the reboot button and stuck there. It does not let me go up to the "restore" button. Any suggestion anyone. Thank you in advance.
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Can you type rstrui.exe from a command prompt or elevated command prompt?
     
  3. team59

    team59 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Attar, nothing at all. When I start the computer and press CTRL + F11, the screen shows up with the choice to restore or reboot. But I could not move the keyboard to anywhere else, except the 'reboot', which onnce I hit enter, it will go back to reboot the system, and of course stuck with the blue screen.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    usb or ps2 keyboard? try f8 to get safemode menu.
     
  5. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Does rstrui.exe exist in the c:/Windows/System32 folder?
    Does any .exe file run?
     
  6. team59

    team59 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi DDP, it's a plug in keyboard, and the USB mouse, but the mouse did not appear. I did press the F8 to get to safemode. But when the computer started to run, it went to the blue screen of death. So unable to run anything.

    Attar : The computer does not go anywhere and I am not able to see anything because of the blue screen

    Thank you you both
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i presume you tried "last known good working configuration" in the safemode menu?
     
  8. team59

    team59 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, I did try all of the options in safe mode, and I each of them went to the blue screen. Thank you, though
     
  9. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Do you have an XP installation CD?
     
  10. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I have to ask, are you trying to reset back to factory defaults from a restore partition or a 'System restore' from a routine restore point.
     
  11. team59

    team59 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, I think I have..
     
  12. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Look at this post.It mentions Dell Dimension 3000 and gives different key presses.
    Is this referring to your model?
    I don't have any experience with restore partitions and don't know if using the feature wipes your documents or installed programs.

    https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AwrBTvvsl4NTDDAA7RzrFAx.;_ylu=X3oDMTE0aDRybGI5BHNlYwNzcgRwb3MDMwRjb2xvA2JmMQR2dGlkA0NBQzAwMV83Mw--?qid=20070130035607AAfgwxy
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2014
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    that should have a 2nd partition that is the recovery partition to reload windows back to factory defaults or to do a system restore.
     
  14. team59

    team59 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am trying to set it back to the factory default as when I first received the computer? The yahoo link was great and that what I did in the past. I wonder why this time it just did not let me move to the restore button, maybe some hardware problem. But thank you, you both.
     

Share This Page