1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cutting down your bigger games.

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by Tdogg2k8, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. Tdogg2k8

    Tdogg2k8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So i heard there was a way to make the big games (heavy rain MGS4 etc.) able to back up on your external but from what i seen its just whispers.
    Does anyone know how this process works or able to point me in the right direction. Thank you.
     
  2. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    mulitman
     
  3. Tdogg2k8

    Tdogg2k8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have multiman already but half the time I can never get games like MGS4 to my external
    or does your answer sort of answer my question?
     
  4. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I've not tried it cos I have a larger internal hdd as well. I think the new multiman supports playback of split files. Think you have to press select+X, not really sure it's fully working though.
     
  5. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    SOME games can be made to go to the external efficiently...MultiMan does that. ALL other games can be made to go to the external in an extremely inefficient way...MultiMan does not do that...because it is so insanely slow.

    Replacement hard drives for the PS3 are cheap and anyone with a screwdriver and a USB drive can install one...you don't need a 7200RPM drive or anything...get yourself a 500GB and forget about the slow speed and constant problems of an external drive.
     
  6. Tdogg2k8

    Tdogg2k8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Only problem is I don't live in the U.S. anymore so its hard for me to get HDDs shipped over. theres only a handful of games I want to do this with that I have.

    I've been tempted to just switch back to whatever the new firmware is so I can get back on PSN but after hearing about this I decided not to just yet.

    everytime i try to forward the big games to my external it says the 4gb thing.

    So does anyone know how that works?

    Also Infamous 2 seems to be another game i may buy soon but i heard it might possibly work with 3.55
     
  7. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    4GB is the sze limit for FAT32. The latest Multiman has the abilty to read FAT and NTFS. NTFS doesn't have that 4GB limit of FAT32. In Multiman's settings is an option that says something like "switch to NTFS drivers". I haven't tried it, but it's there.
     
  8. Tdogg2k8

    Tdogg2k8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    but does that mean you have to change your External over to NTFS? or do you keep it fat 32? in order for it to work
     
  9. dennisv9

    dennisv9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    multiman can't read games from ntfs partition. i thought too, but i was wrong. multiman can't boot games from a ntfs partition, so you are stuck with internal (+4gig) or external fat 32 (4 gig limit)
     
  10. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I find that extremely hard to believe...hard drives are small and cheap to ship; under $15 for all but the most extreme cases (like Cuba or something).

    I am just trying to figure out why you would want to...it is going to be slower than playing off the game disk, assuming it starts without further modifications that slow it down even more. I'll assume you cannot afford a drive or you are living on a remote desert island or something...you are still better off playing from blurays than from an external hard drive, so why waste time setting it up?
     

Share This Page