1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D2CKey Wii Better than wiikey?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Legs2701, Nov 9, 2007.

1. Legs2701

Legs2701 Guest

HI Everyone,

I am new to all this modding stuff. Paid someone to do it for me as I am smart enough to know I dont have the skills.

What I would like to know is what all this talk about the D2Ckey is about? Is it better than the wiikey?

I have the wiikey and cant get the new 1.9 & 1.3 upgrades to work
    I just want to play my imported genuine gamecube games and am wondering can anyone get a DC2key or only ones with that board.

If not can you buy these boards or would you not bother because its no better than wiikey?

I have googled and searched the forums for my answers and found nothing so perhaps I am not looking hard enough but hopefully someone out there can help me understand what is going on

Thanks!!

2. juniR

juniR Guest

The D2Ckey is the latest solution for ppl who have bought one of the latest Wiis. It is a chip specifically designed for the D2C drive in these machines. The Wiikey and other chips don't work on this drive.

The Wiikey is designed for the D2A and D2B drives in older machines, such as yours.

To pull your drive out and replace it with a D2C drive incorporating the D2Ckey may well be too much of a job if at all possible. It's certainly gonna cost you.

I would check thoroughly through any instructions to see if you've missed something. For example you are advised to pad the image files of the firmware update and config before burning using the program supplied with the 1.3 config.

I've just bought a premodded Wii with the wiikey and had no problems with updating it's firmware to 1.9g and running the 1.3 config disk.

3. Legs2701

Legs2701 Guest

Thanks Heaps for the info!!

I will just perserve with this disk and try and get it sorted.