1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dash Problems

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by Romeo2K, Jun 3, 2007.

1. Romeo2K

Romeo2K Member

Well i just picked up an xbox on the cheap at a goodwill, And im trying to get it to work, Guess i got what i payed for... XD
    I'm a newb when it comes to xbox stuff (playstation and nintendo up until now) so bear with me.

It's been giving errors 16's on the maintenance screen, So i followed this guide: http://www.teammodders.com/forum/how-to-hotswap-and-recover-a-hd-without-an-eeprom-backup-t91.html
    And i've tryed it with 2 different dashes that are said to be full and clean that i download from bitorrent and slayers disc.
    Problem is after doing it the first time with still gave me the error 16's.
    and the second time it goes to load the dash and freezes, then reboots the xbox, then continues a loop of this, also the microsoft logo shows on this one where it doesnt any other time.

I've used the file broser on hboxhdm to compare files and the only differences are in the e: drive, so i just cleared the e: drive except for the 3 folders that are needed to be int here (cache, udata, tdata or whatever} and put all the dash files in the c: drive and it just boots to error 16 again.

Im not able to do evox and what not from my dvd rom as i dont have a dvd burner, i do have cd burners but i have thompson dvd reader in the xbox and it wont read the discs.

And i dont have access to another xbox to do a hotswap between the 2 or a clock set.
    Im really stuck here... i dont want to do a modchip right now, ill do softmods if i can and it will get it running.

Any help, info, advise and such appreciated. Im pretty ready to give up on it until i get access to another box at this point and stick with playstation :p.

2. steimy

steimy Active member