1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Data to DVD

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by pepzanadu, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. pepzanadu

    pepzanadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys. I'm having trouble with data files. I've transfered them onto a DVD disc. It plays on the computer, but not on DVD player(s). I have many of the programs to burn DVD's:

    -any DVD
    -clone DVD
    -DVD shrink
    -DVD encrypter
    -RipIt4Me
    -DVD Fab platinum 4
    -Nero smart

    None of them can read the data files on them. Files vary from: avi, wmv, and mpg. HELP!!!

    Thanks for your time. Really appreciate it.
     
  2. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you have a regular DVD plyer that does not have WMV/mpeg/Divx support, the DVD will not be recognized.
     
  3. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    pepzanadu,
    You need a certified Divx DVD player to play these files. Otherwise, they need to be encoded into DVD. For this, you can use DVD Flick, a freeware.
     
  4. pepzanadu

    pepzanadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, so I downloaded DVD Flick. I followed the instructions and everything seemed to be going alright. But when it got to finalizing the project, Img Burn opened up. Still looked like things were okay. Then it froze in it's own window and had this information:

    I 21:47:57 ImgBurn Version 2.3.2.0 started!
    I 21:47:57 Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition (6.0, Build 6000)
    I 21:47:57 Total Physical Memory: 2,094,664 KB - Available: 917,056 KB
    I 21:47:57 Initialising SPTI...
    I 21:47:57 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 21:48:02 Found 1 DVD±RW!

    So I don't think it's done yet. What do I do? Seems that it doesn't recognize that there's a disc in the tray. So close, yet so far...

    Thanks again ya'll.
     
  5. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    And that's it, no error, or anything?

    I never trust the automatic-chain-launching aplications...
    I normally save the compilation to HDD and burn manually. Did you have DVD Flick st up to save an ISO to HDD?
     
  6. pepzanadu

    pepzanadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DVD Flick actually finished the project, or at least that's what it said. But DVD still couldn't be read. I'll try it again, maybe I forgot to do something.

    Thanks
     
  7. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If DVD Flick finished the project, did you set it to save to HDD? Look in the folder that you selected as your "Project destination folder"....
     
  8. pepzanadu

    pepzanadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I apologize cyprusrom, but I'm not as savvy to know wether I set it to HDD. What I did notice when I went into the settings was that the TARGET FORMAT was set to PAL, and from my understading it should be set to NTSC. Hopefully that makes a difference. Otherwise, not sure what to say. Still learning the ropes. As they say: better to be a fool for 5 minutes than to be a fool forever.

    Thanks again!
     
  9. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    here is a guide:

    http://beginwithsoftware.com/videoguides/dvd-flick-guide.html

    If you keep the "make an ISO" and "burn to disc" options checked, when DVD Flick is done will open ImgBurn and burn. Otherwise you have to bur the folder that DVD Flick saved,have to do the burn manually.

    Are you in US? If yes, then you should have NTSC selected.
     
  10. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It looks like you've successfully written the file onto a blank medium. If it won't initiate playback, then my hunch is video standard incompatibility. If you know you're in Region 1, then set DVD Flick to NTSC.
     
  11. pepzanadu

    pepzanadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright. I've read the tutorial and I'm gonna give it a go! Hopefully I comprehend. Yes, I'm in the US.

    Thanks so much guys. Let us pray! lol
     
  12. pepzanadu

    pepzanadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Success! Data encoded, then I manually burned. I'm very grateful to you guys. Thank you. Til next time, and there will be a next time! lol
     
  13. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    pepzanadu,
    I'm glad you got it all sorted out!
     

Share This Page