1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ddr or sdram

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by accy786, Dec 9, 2004.

  1. accy786

    accy786 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi...I keep running low on memory so iv decided to add 512mb to it...but the think is how do i find what type of memory ( ddr ,sdram ) do i need ,with out stripping the computer to bits?
    thankz in advance
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    all you have to do is open left side of tower so you can look into computer & locate the ram, if it has 2 notches in the ram socket is sdram if 1 notch is most likely is ddr ram without actually looking at ram stick as you could also have rambus ram. what is your motherboard & model #. also look into computer/motherboard manual will tell you what type you have
     
  3. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What pc do you have?
     
  4. accy786

    accy786 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thankz ....i got it now :)
     
  5. askyew

    askyew Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  6. ozzy1

    ozzy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a dell pc and when i looked in the book it said i needed ddr sdram after two weeks of searching i found some on e bay.
    But my question is how come every where else i went they said you need ddr or sdram when my book said both.
    Any one could explain, im sure im not the only dell owner confused with this.
     
  7. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
  8. ianski7

    ianski7 Guest

    Hey

    There are four basic types of RAM memory used in PCs.
    SDRAM, DDR SDRAM, DDR2 SDRAM(Intel for now),RDRAM(Intel).There are others but they are obsolete.

    Learn about memory here.

    http://www.howstuffworks.com/ram.htm/printable


     
  9. accy786

    accy786 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have 256mb ddr and i want 512mb ddr.
    I have a amd athlon xp 2600+.
    What i want to know is do i get 512mb ddr pc3200 400mhz or 512 mb ddr pc2700 333mhz??
    And how do you know which one is gona work on your comp?
    by the way im buying of e-bay.

    thankz
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what speed is your 256meg than buy same speed
     
  11. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey

    If its the PC that you have in your sig (Dell Dimension 4600)

    You should currenlty have DDR400, so you best bet is to get the 512mb DDR400 PC3200

    CJC
     

Share This Page