1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dead starview repairs

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by davidquad, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. davidquad

    davidquad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi all, those of u who had version 300Ee on your starview box and then it died have CLONE boxes. The box is not damaged it's bootloader has been erased by firmware 300Ee. You can fix it with a JTAG lead and skymaxup 2.2 software. if u look on other forums u will find everything u a re looking for. for the less technical minded i can repair your box for u.
     
  2. car19

    car19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi show us the forum site and how to do it from serial port to hook up on cable box?
     
  3. eamo32

    eamo32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Go to this link;
    http://www.drewish1.co.uk/

    Click on tools page, and in there you'll see a link Fix For Dead Clones Pack - Download. Click on Download, and you'll get all the files required for the jtag, you will still ne the GTROM loader and firmware files, also available on that site.

    I'm not sure what cable build instructions are included, could be for the one with an ic and various bits. Give me a few minutes to dig up the link to a very simple cable.
     
  4. eamo32

    eamo32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here's a schematic for a very simple jtag cable. I had a spare DB25 lead, so I took out the block, cut the internal wires to a reasonable length.
    Bought the 5 resistors today for €1.25, took about five minutes to solder it all together a few more minutes to solder it to the jtag pads inside the Starview, did the SkyMax thing, stuck v2.57 firmware on to it.
    Took about 25 minutes to put it all together, and get the box back fully working.
    Obviously, now that I have a cable, it won't take as long if I need to do it again.
     
  5. eamo32

    eamo32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  6. car19

    car19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi again friends all I require is the schematic for a D9 cable plug for serial loading all the instructions are all to do with the Starview box end I want the D9 plug end with connections hopfully?
     
  7. gladface

    gladface Guest

    sorry guys I don't know the first thing about j-tags but can anyone tell me if I can buy one somewhere, also checked my clone starview and I see that is a twenty pin chipp I have inside
     
  8. d3an0s

    d3an0s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if this is you i can help

    your box will probably need jtagging
    this process requires solding 7 wires to the starviews mainboard
    this can be tricky to do
    serveral people on the net are charging between £15-20 just check out
    ebay

    i will charge £10 for the first box then £7.50 for anymore
    you will have to pay return postage which will be advised

    i will contact you on the phone or you can ring me on my landline
    i use my landline to show im genuin and not some scam artist

    to check if your starview can be fixed by jtagging turn in on and
    listen to see if your can hear a little click if you can im 99% sure it
    can be fixed

    i will also load the new STAR_VIEW_H20060816_257eE_api_FIXED software
    which auto key roles !!so no more need to keep entering codes!! this
    file is 100% safe for the starview clone that is going around
    in most cases i return the box within 24hrs
    sometimes i will just replace your box with a working 1
    so same day return may be possible

    you paid good money for your starview dont let it be a house brick

    email at d3an0s@gmail.com with any questions or just leave me your
    telephone number and i will get back to you
     
  9. chalkyuk

    chalkyuk Guest

    Hi d3an0s

    Mine has no sound what’s so ever does that meen it can not be fixed
     
  10. d3an0s

    d3an0s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    check ya scart lead if still no good do a factory reset
     
  11. car19

    car19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  12. ryanmg

    ryanmg Guest

    its been down nearly all week
     
  13. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96



    Seen you on fleabay and this is not fleabay as forum rules state that there is absolutely no advertising. Also some good people have been suspended from here for a small amount of advertising, (and they have helped people out a lot here).
     
  14. jtrash

    jtrash Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  15. LastCuban

    LastCuban Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    eamo, Could you give me some guidance please. I finally got around to try jtagging my starview clone but dont know where the "vcc" lead from the capacitor goes.
     
  16. MAINAMN

    MAINAMN Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2007
  17. car19

    car19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi dont use a powered version It cheaper and easy and will not cause any problems simular I have read when wires get mixed up you may see smoke and then that is the end Use the JTAG with just 5 100ohm resistors in and a D25 plug
     
  18. MAINAMN

    MAINAMN Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    hi m8 I dont know much about jtaging ( thank god ) never needed too !
    but thanks for the info..
     
  19. LastCuban

    LastCuban Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for that. I have read this tutorial but I still cannot see where I connect the VCC lead. This is the one that does not connect to the 25 pin lead. One end is soldered to cap 40 but I dont know where the other end goes.
     
  20. MAINAMN

    MAINAMN Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

Share This Page