1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Definate newbie here

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by hongkong, Feb 5, 2005.

1. hongkong

hongkong Member

I have 4.0.3.8 xcopy An xp w/ all minimum req. When i back up a disc it plays ok untill about half way in, then it freezes and jumps. I am using Phillips 4x dvd+r.

2. J_man

J_man Regular member

Most of Philips dvd media is manufactured by CMC.
    Poor quality media. Try some better quality media like (Verbatim,Taiyo Yudens,Tdk) to name a few.

3. Whitfield

Whitfield Regular member

Good chance it is the media but why noy use Shrink and Decryptor--they are free and produce better quality--try different media like Sony, Verbatim, Maxell--maybe get an RW disk for practicing--

Whitfield

4. hongkong

hongkong Member

O.K. I will try that is that probably the prob? The sells guy had tdk dvd-r's but no +'s. He said that phillips was high quality but maybe not huh? I was going to install a new dvd drive is this nessicary? Some one said that my laser may be getting old and not burning deep enough.

5. hongkong

hongkong Member

Whitfeild when I tried to use shrink when annalizing the dvd's (all of them) it would get about 95 percent though and then it would say unable to complete. Then if I tried to create a back up one from it same thing? I am sorry I am terribly new at this any info would be great.

6. J_man

J_man Regular member

How long have you been backing up dvd's with your current burner? What type(model#) of burner?
    How much free space is on your hard drive?
    When you said the dvd freezes and jumps does this only happen once in the middle of the movie or quite often as the dvd is playing.

Last edited: Feb 5, 2005
  7. hongkong

hongkong Member