1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Defragment?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by ebay, May 21, 2007.

  1. ebay

    ebay Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I was trying to defragment my hard drive and it says that teh program defragment is not installed on the computer. It tells me to go to the add/remove programs and click install/uninstall windows programs. I went to the install/uninstall and there was nothing. How do I get the defragemnt program back on to the computer.
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That's bizarre, never seen anything like it. However, you may as well get a slightly more advanced program. Try Auslogics Disk Defrag - that's worked wonders for me and is a lot quicker than windows!
    http://www.auslogics.com/disk-defrag/
     
  3. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    ebay

    Which version of Windows are you using?
     
  4. ebay

    ebay Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yea I know its so strange. I didn't think it was possible to uninstall defragment. But I'm using windows XP. I wanted to restore it instead of get a new program.
     
  5. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I would go Auslogics Disk Defrag it is better than Windows's defrag utility in every way and it is also free.
     
  6. ebay

    ebay Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I want to redownload windows version of defragment and install it agia. Anyone know how to do that?
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I have no idea, I wasn't aware it was possible. I know it's what you asked, but I can't say I'm sure how to do it. Install Auslogics I'm sure you'll much prefer it.
     
  8. bluecoal

    bluecoal Guest

  9. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    ebay

    If you've somehow uninstalled defragmenter then you've used an after market application to do it with such as XPlite professional or you've corrupted your OS. If you did by chance uninstall it using XPlite professional then you can use it to reinstall it.

    http://www.litepc.com/xplite/defrag.htm&view=expanded

    Windows defragmenter is just a a scaled down verions of Diskeeper.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The things you learn! And from Sophocles nonetheless, still kick around at aD then?
     
  11. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Browse to C:\Windows\Options\Install\Win_16.CAB folder and locate DEFRAG.EXE file. Right click on it and select the EXTRACT option. Place it in the C:\Windows folder.

    You can run it from the Start - RUN and enter DEFRAG.

    Alternativly do a repair look here Http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315341/
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2007

Share This Page