1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dell precision

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by jboyle, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    was offered a dell precision laptop the other day with xp installed on it for cheap .anyone know if its a good laptop??
     
  2. pcdoc1

    pcdoc1 Guest

    Yes they are Dell's top of the line models.
     
  3. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do you have one mate?or have you used one?any feedback would be great.im in ireland and was offered one for 250 euros.
     
  4. pcdoc1

    pcdoc1 Guest

    No I don't have one, but I do work on a lot of Dells,(Dell Certified Systems Engineer) they are the same as the Latitudes but higher quality parts. What model are you looking at buying?
     
  5. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the precision m20 mate?
     
  6. pcdoc1

    pcdoc1 Guest

    If you can get the service tag for the laptop you can go to the Dell support site and find out it's original configuration.
    It was sold with one of four processors 1.6-2.13 Ghz.
    The service tag is found on the bottom of the laptop.
    www.support.dell.com
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
  8. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Seems like a decent Laptop. The Pentium M was when Intel finally started getting their crap together. I would suggest you might want to upgrade the RAM to 1GB to be comfortable.
     
  9. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the bloke whos selling it used to work for dell he told me he upgraded the ram to 2gb!!thanks for all your replies everyone ! i went ahead and purchased it.and i am very impressed :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008

Share This Page