1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Device Not Ready (Medium Not Present)"

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Unsprung, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. Unsprung

    Unsprung Guest

    Despite copying several hundred DVDs using DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter, I am a newbie. I just did the same thing over and over because it worked - that is until a few weeks ago when Decrypter stopped working (Shrink works fine). I now get "Device Not Ready (Medium Not Present)." I read some old posts and took the following actions:
    1) Tried to get new drivers. I could not find drivers for my old burner so I bought a new external one. Still got same error message.
    2) I read a post where someone suggested changing the upper filters in "regedit." I think I followed that advice correctly (without understanding it) but no luck.
    3) Changed media. That made no difference. I used many different DVD+R media before there was a problem and two different media since the error message and still get the same error message.
    4) Switched to ImgBurn. I understand that Decrypter has evolved into ImgBurn, so I downloaded that. I get the exact same error message only I am little uncomfortable with ImgBurn having never seen that wonderful "Operation Successfully Completed" message using it.

    What's going on? Is this the best place to post this? Feel free to talk down to me. Computer technology is evolving far faster than I am. I have Microsoft XP if that helps anyone.
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Are You Sure You Have a DVD Burner?
    What is the Make and Model of your Drive?
    Imgburn Has the Ability to Check for Firmware UpDates.
     
  4. Unsprung

    Unsprung Guest

    Oh it's a DVD burner and burned many DVDs before i began getting there error message. According to my device manager, I have a HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC-4481B. I believe that I did find eventually find drivers to download and finally did that but there was no change. I have tried so many things that I'm not even sure any more. What is "firmware" and how do I check for it?
     
  5. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  6. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Definitley time for a new burner as Beryone suggested,as for error i get that when a program reads my slave dvd burner when the disc is in the primary,it could also be due to your dvd's more so if low quality
     
  7. Unsprung

    Unsprung Guest

    You must have missed that. That was #1 on my list of thngs that I tried to resolve the error message. I now have a brand new external burner. Either burner can run any DVD or CD but I still get the "device not present" error message when I use DVD Decrypter or ImgBurn.
     
  8. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    try un-installing both progs & run registry cleaner like cc (create a backup when it asks) reboot re-install if still no go is there any security software that may have quarantined parts of them or a bloody microsoft update has conflicted,only the thing is try another burning program nero 10 is free if you know where to go
     
  9. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I Myself Don't Think It's a Software Problem. You Said You Tried Different Brands of Media, I'm Just Wondering What The MID Code is on Them and If That Has Changed.
    I Suggest You Try Verbatim 8X -Rs
     
  10. Unsprung

    Unsprung Guest

    The type of media that I run has not changed. I always use the 16x DVD+R. Somebody once told me to use that and I have used it ever since.
     
  11. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Even So Older Burners May Have Problems With the Newer Faster Media. -Rs Are Compatible with More DVD Players. Verbatims (Mid Code MCC)Are Very, Very Good Quality Disc. Even if You Are Using the Same Brand the Mid Codes Can Vary. Many Companies Outsource to Other Manufacturers.
     
  12. Unsprung

    Unsprung Guest

    I deleted DVD Decyrpter, uninstalled DVD Shrink and ImgBurn, fixed the registry with CC Cleaner, and reinstalled DVD Shrink and ImgBurn. I am new to ImgBurn having always used DVD Decrypter. I dragged the Video_TS folder over. Created and Audio_TS folder (there was none) and dragged that over. Put a blank DVD in the burner. Nothing happened. The familiar "Device Not Ready (Medium Not Present)" appears at the bottom of the menu.
     
  13. Unsprung

    Unsprung Guest

    So, as you can see, I am still getting error messages "Device Not Ready (Medium Not Present)" with both Decrypter and ImgBurn. Did I stump everyone?
     
  14. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That Burner Is 5 Years Old. Try Using 8X -R Disc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  15. Unsprung

    Unsprung Guest

    I will try the 8x-R, but I should reiterate that I have also have a brand new external burner that is getting the same message. See the first message in this thread.
     
  16. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    go grab dvdfab it should auto install vso burning engine the tick box is there if it doesn't, if you have any RW use them instead no sense making coasters,in the left column of fab is "more" where "write" data is,try burning a movie now with a different program.If it works try a roll back using system restore to the point where you remember what month all was ok
     

Share This Page