1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Did I install the chip??

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Demaster, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So I recently ordered a wii, a wiikey, and all of the necessary tools to install the wiikey.

    After opening the wii, installing the key (which after looking at closely it looks like a did a dandy job), and putting the thing back together I'm happy that it turned on!

    To my utter dissapointment, it was as if I had just taken the wii apart and back together! In other words, the wii functioned normally & acted as if I had not installed any chip of any kind.

    I tried popping in two different games that I had already burned (Zelda & Wario Ware) and neither worked.

    What should I do?
     
  2. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Did you tried putting in the Wiikey setup disc?
     
  3. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That's my next step.

    Honestly I did this at a bad time. The only windows in the house (my laptop) is currently in Texas being repaired since it's motherboard is randomly fried (kudos to Dell!)

    Yes I have came across some software that is also for Mac OS X that mimic's how to make the setup disc, but I'm having trouble with that. I just went over my friend's house (who has windows) and making the setup disc was much simplier (sadly she doesn't have a DVD burner)

    Anyways, I should get my laptop back in a few days so I can pop in the disc. Do I need the disc in order for it to "turn on"? Last I read somewhere the Wiikey doesn't have an "on/off" switch
     
  4. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Well that's the first thing I did with my Wiikey. I put in the setup disc and turned on the region override setting and checked all of the other stuff. THEN I started using my backups.

    I don't think you want to open up your Wii again, but if you can, can you take a picture of the installation?
     
  5. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If it comes down to it I will. Hope I dont have to :-\
     
  6. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So I went over my friend's house & burned the Wiikey base v1.2 Disc. Popped that right in & it worked!

    Sadly, When I configure the wiikey to OVerride the Region & Slow down the DVD speed. It never saves. And yes I do hit the "Save settings..." option and no, it does not save.

    I tried popping in Zelda, it said disc error. I tried popping in Wario Ware, it recignized it but when I hit "Start" on the Wii menu nothing else happens.

    Are both of these bad burns and why isn't my wiikey saving it's settings?
     
  7. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it is saving
    it just always shows the defaults off the disc as it cannot read the chip due to its stealth settings
     
  8. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    OK, so the Wiikey works.

    What DVD media do you use?
     
  9. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2007
  10. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Verbatim. I have Sony DVDs to work with as well.

    After browsing through thr froums more I've read that Maxell works wonders
     
  11. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Wii Region = US
    Zelda Region = PAL
    WarioWare I'm guessing is NTSC - he burned it for me & i never got a chance to look at its region.

    Thanks for the link
     
  12. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Since you have a NTSC(U) Wii you will look at the following sections on the above link...

    PAL TO NTSC(U)

    NTSC(J) TO NTSC(U)

    This will let you know what PAL and NTSC(J) Game Disc will work on your NTSC(U) Wii.

    The site gives this info for playing a PAL Zelda Game Disc on a NTSC(U) Wii

    0002 The Legend Of Zelda: Twilight Princess Recognizes disc, locks up on load

    So it is not compatible to play on your NTSC(U) Wii. Get the NTSC(U) version.

    I also think the Warioware is also a PAL version. Since you said it shows in your Disc Channel but locks up when trying to play it.

    This is what the PAL TO NTSC(U) section says for Warioware...

    0065 WarioWare: Smooth Moves (PI) Tested with Wiikey. Recognizes disc, locks up on load

    I would try getting a version of Warioware that you know for sure is NTSC(U) since the PAL version will not work on your NTSC(U) Wii either.

    Make sure you check that list before burning a PAL or NTSC(J) backup to disc. Make sure it is Region Compatible with your NTSC(U) Wii.

    So your next step should be getting an NTSC(U) Game Disc or a PAL Game disc that is on the Region compatibility list as working.

    Trying to use the 2 above Games will not work since the PAL versions are not compatible with your NTSC(U) Wii.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2007
  13. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for the help...

    wtf is up with the 50mhz & 60mhz?

    And what should I run my wii at? 3x or 6x?

    I don't care about noise, but I'm more focused on compatibilty.

    What are the pros & cons of both?
     
  14. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    50 /60 hz is down to the tv - its the speed at which the screen is updated most tvs can cope with 60 so use this if u can

    i left my wii speed at 6x never had an issue

    oh and i use maxell discs
     
  15. ziggi_83

    ziggi_83 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi, if i was to use the wire install and put the wikey in the black gap on the side..
    Do you guys think i should cover all the solder points, wires and the wiikey with electrical tape?
    Will that cause any problems, will it last forever?
    thanks
     
  16. Demaster

    Demaster Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I saw a website where someone did indeed use wires from the key to the corecct points. I suppose It'd work - I don't see why it wouldn't

    As far as electrical tape, I covered my wiikey with it to make it secure, it seems to have worked. The only thing I can see going wrong is messing up the soder when pushing on the tape. Other than that, I don't see a problem with what you're doing.
     

Share This Page