1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Different Discs And Speeds!

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by GrK, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. GrK

    GrK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I wonder what type of discs u use when burning PS2 dvd's
    And what Speed. 2x? 4x?
    And what is the real big difference between Burning in 2x and in 4x? What happens with the information etc?
    I have always thought about this question but never came up with an answer...So I am hoping some of u guys should know ..right?? :p

    When burning I am Using Princo DVD-R DVD's and always burning on 2X
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    burning at 2x is good, using princo discs is BAD.
     
  3. GrK

    GrK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Why r Princo DVD-R's Bad??? I've used them for 1 year now....And all of the games are working just fine. Without errors and Video Cuts and stuff....

    Then What kind of DVD-R's do u use???
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i use ritek. i tried a 25 pack of princo and got 25 non working games or unreadable movies.
     
  5. GrK

    GrK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thats weird!.....All of my Movies and PS2/Xbox games works fine with princo dvd-r's :S:S
     
  6. MadButch

    MadButch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Princo's used to be the ones that worked fine all the time. But the last pack of 100 that I bought, don't work at all.

    I switched to RiTek G04's as well...

    So be warned... if you buy big packs, get ready to be @%$#!@#... The new princo's don't work for PS2 at all... movies might work if your lucky, but chances are they will freeze at the end.
     
  7. GrK

    GrK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ooo...That's really weird...because i recently bought two 25 pack of Princo's....And they r still working with my ps2 :S...

    But what kind of problems did u have with Princo? The games just didnt work? or did u have problems later on with the DVD's?

    Because i've used Princo's for 1 year now they still work perfect for me :S
     
  8. MadButch

    MadButch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Most games didn't even load, some just had read errors later on.
    Most movies won't play at the later half of the DVD, or not play at all.

    I'm now just burning thru them, just to get rid of them.

    For example: Let's say you burn a DVD that has 4 episodes of a tv show on them. Then the 4th episode will have hickups during playback, meaning you miss minutes, because the disc has read errors, and the dvd just skips forward.
     
  9. GrK

    GrK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok thx for the Examples!....
    Now u r really making me scared!...because i Cant say that i Played through all of my games....and all of my games are burned on Princos :p
    The only games I've cleared so far are San Andreas, Def Jam, Vice city and bla bla....and the games didnt in some way fusk up for me :p....
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2004
  10. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    my ps2 wouldn't read the princo discs, i was, however, able to read them on my computer and reburn to better media and it worked fine.
     
  11. GrK

    GrK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmm....still weird :S:S
     
  12. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    dont you need to burn playstation 2
    at 1 speeds.

    it was my understanding that the ps2 could only read images writen a 1 speed. something sony did to make piracy harder.

    please tell me if this is true

    i use nero burner rom and verbatim dvd-r and ricoh dvd+r media are these dvds ok?
     
  13. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    you can burn at any speed you want (i use 2x), its just the faster you burn, the greater chance of errors on the disc. Your media choice should be fine.
     
  14. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i dont understand..

    how ps2 games are fairly hard to burn and make them playable.

    but dvd film are easily downloaded easily burned and play on all dvd players as good as the original no matter what speed there burnt at..

    i would have thought that dvd players these days would have stopped you playing copyed dvd but all the attention seems to be on games.
     
  15. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    they cant put too much protection in dvd players because people want to be able to make their own movies (home movies, etc.) on dvds. Sony owns all rights to the playstation, so they want to make it as hard as possible to copy their software.
     
  16. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    can you recommend to me a dvd burner

    as i said my liteon one burns 4x minimum.
    im looking for one that burns 1 or 2 speed.

     
  17. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    what exact liteon burner do you have?
     
  18. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have a LITEON SOHW1213S


    Cost about 60Pounds or 110 dollers
     
  19. jopkijopa

    jopkijopa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Guys, have you tried http://www.videohelp.com/dvdmedia ? ... and if you talk about media manufacturers, you need to consider also what is in the header. Different brands may use the same physical media type. Conversely, there is no guarantee that next time you buy same looking package from Ritek it would behave the same way. It may have different parameters recorded in the header so your drive may not be happy when it tries to write onto it!
    I use free DVDInfoPro from http://www.dvdinfopro.com/ to read the DVD media header. The first website can help you determine if you bought a lemon!
     
  20. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    huh?

    i dont understand we..i was trying to find out if i could change the speed of my burner or get a model of a burner that fits my needs nobody said anything about media.
     

Share This Page