1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difficulty with Dual Layer Backup

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by steve7777, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. steve7777

    steve7777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use AnyDVD in conjunction with Nero Recode to produce my backups. I decided to backup my copy of "Pirates of the Carribean" and everything went well... until I started to burn.

    As I was using a DVD+R DL, I went with the copy function in Nero Express. I get the following error message:
    I am using Memorex DVD+R DL media as seen on their website: http://www.memorex.com/html/products_detail.php?section=1&SID=5&PID=919&FID=134&opento=3#

    Furthermore, I've had this problem with both my NEC ND-6500A and NEC-3500AG.

    So then I went and created an image of the disc in quesiton using AnyDVD and Nero Express (copy function) and had no success.

    What's the problem. No new firware is available for the 6500 and I'm now getting quite frustrated. I hope that I havn't been making costers out of these discs?!

    Regards,

    steve7777

    EDIT: I am currently trying the method as described in this post:http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/1/160628#837890

    I hope it works, but will share the results once everything is done.


     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2005
  2. steve7777

    steve7777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, I've tried the method using dvd decrypter but have no success.

    I'm really at a loss, and any help would be most appreciated.

    Regards,
    steve7777
     
  3. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    ok got your pm....

    um? so you used dvd decrypter to rip the whole dvd9 to your HD?

    as you say firmware could be the issue here? have you been to the website of your drive for compatibilty on dual layer?

    could you tell me your drive ID so i can search!

    how far did you get with dvd decrypter for you to say it dont work?

    did you make an .MDS file aswell as an ISO image on ripp?

    have you tried ipping in file mode?

    i will have a think! tell me as much info as poss!
     
  4. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    what version dvd decrypter you got?

    can you show mw any error logs?

    hi do you have dma enbled for the drive?

     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2005
  5. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  6. steve7777

    steve7777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here are the error msgs. that I get when using DVD Decryptor.

    These occur seconds after I select the MDS file that was created when I ripped the DVD to my HD.

    Screencaps:

    http://img46.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img46&image=errorw65000tr.jpg

    http://img118.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img118&image=errorw35001mj.jpg

    http://img118.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img118&image=errorw350029ri.jpg

    http://img118.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img118&image=infotool5wz.jpg

    I have the very latest version of DVD Decrypter, 3.5.4.0

    I did not try using file mode, mostly because I don't use decrypter very much. I somehow belive that it's a firmware problem, but will call my PC manufacturer to get what's up.

    I hope that I didn't blow 40 bucks on blank DVD's that I can't use:)

    DMA on the ND-6500A is enabled, there is no mention on the 3500.

    Regards,

    steve7777


     
  7. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    i think theres new firmware for your drives!!!!! have a look!!!!!

    http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=1920

    http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=1904
    --------------------------------------

    I/O ERRORS!!!

    http://forum.dvddecrypter.com/index.php?showtopic=15076
    --------------------------------------

    but as a last resort make sure your system is running how it should be!! follow every step!!!!

    1. Running Programs

    Make sure you quit all running background programs, such as anti-virus software.

    Windows 95 Users
    Use the Ctrl-Alt-Del function to quit all the programs using the Task Manager, EXCEPT for the Explorer, systray, and your recording software

    Windows 98/ME Users
    Select [Start] -> [Run], then input "msconfig". Disable everything under the [Startup] tab, except "system tray'.

    Windows 2000/XP Users
    Open the Task Manager, then select the program/s under the [Application] tab, then click [End Task].

    2. Drive Connection

    Other devices may be interfering with the CD-R/RW drive. Disconnect all other removable devices, then try recording again. If there is still a problem, try the following.

    Optimal Hardware Configuration

    All hard drives are placed on the Primary IDE, check that the drives are correctly set as master/slave. CD-ROM/CD-R/RW drives are placed on the Secondary IDE, set the recording drive as the "master". If you are using a USB or IEEE devices, disconnect them.

    Update your chipset

    Windows 95/98/ME Users
    Right click on [My Computer] and select [Properties] from the menu. Click on [Device Manager], then click to open [Hard Disk Controllers]. You will find: the Primary IDE Channel controller, the Secondary IDE Channel controller and a brand name controller, e.g. Intel, SIS, VIA, etc. The brand name controller is what needs to be updated. Please visit their website to obtain these updates.

    Windows NT/2000/XP Users
    Right click on [My Computer] and select [Properties] from the menu. Click [Device Manager] on the [Hardware] tab, then click to open the [IDE ATA/ATAPI (hard disk) controllers] section. You will find: the Primary IDE Channel controller, Secondary IDE Channel controller, and a brand name controller, e.g. Intel, SIS, VIA, etc. The brand name controller is what needs to be updated. Please visit their website to obtain these updates.

    Configure Windows
    Make sure that your operating system has been fully updated. Visit the Microsoft website to acquire these updates.

    3. ASPI Manager

    Check your ASPI layer configuration. Your recording program is likely to use the standard windows ASPI layer, which has been replaced by another ASPI layer of yet another recording program. Make sure you have the original windows ASPI layer in use and retry. If the problem persists, contact the drive maker.

    4. DMA Settings

    Setting DMA mode:

    Windows 95/98/ME Users

    Right click on [My Computer] and select [Properties] from the menu. Click on [Device Manager], then click on [CD-ROM]. This will expand to show the CD drives on your system. Right click on a drive and select [Properties] from the menu. Click on the [Settings] tab and check that the [DMA] option is enabled. Repeat this procedure for the remaining CD drives.

    Win NT/2000/XP Users

    Right click on [My Computer] and select [Properties] from the menu. Click [Device Manager] on the [Hardware] tab, then click to open the [IDE ATA/ATAPI (hard disk) controllers] section. You will find: the Primary IDE Channel controller, Secondary IDE Channel controller. Complete the following procedure:

    Right click on the Primary IDE controller and select [Properties] from the menu.
    Select the [Advanced Settings] tab. Check that the [Transfer Mode] for both devices is set to [DMA if available].
    Repeat this for Secondary IDE controller.

    Note: In some cases older CD-ROM drives will not support DMA mode. In that case please set both devices to PIO mode.

    5. Disc

    Recording errors often occur when the disc is dirty, or has fingerprints or scratches. If an error occurred during test simulation (before actual recording), clean the disc. If you are getting recording errors, try the following.
    Use a different blank, recordable disc.
    Use a different manufacturer's disc.
    Ensure the disc is clean before recording:
    Remove all fingerprints, dirt, and dust from the shiny side of your disc using a nonabrasive cloth with a mild, nonabrasive soap solution.
    Wipe the disc from the center to the edge of the disc.
    Dry the disc completely.

    Error during file verification
    If an error occurred when the files were being verified, record the same files again using a different disc.

    Read error when copying a disc
    When copying a disc, if an error occurred while reading data from the original disc, the original disc may be scratched or dirty.
    Try cleaning the disc.
    Remove all fingerprints, dirt, and dust from the shiny side of your disc using a nonabrasive cloth with a mild, nonabrasive soap solution.
    Wipe the disc from the center to the edge of the disc.
    Dry the disc completely.
    Try using a different source drive.
    To change the drive you use to read your disc, click the Change button when asked to insert a source disc into your drive tray.
    Select the drive you wish to use from the drop-down menu.
    Insert your disc into the new drive.
    Try using copying the disc using one drive as both the source and destination drive.
    When you use your recorder to both read and write to your disc, B's Recorder GOLD creates an image file of the entire disc to your hard drive and then copies that temporary file onto your blank disc. This can be helpful if the drive you are using to read your original disc is slow or unreliable.

    If the problem persists, contact the drive maker.

    6. Drive

    If you have tried Actions 1 through 5 above, there may be a problem with your drive. Contact the drive maker with details of the error code. If the 5th and 6th digit of the error code is 80 through FF, then the error code is maker unique. The descriptions of these error codes differ depending on the maker.







     
  8. steve7777

    steve7777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I have a bit of a problem:

    http://img214.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img214&image=woohoo3gv.jpg

    Now it's trying to tell me that I don't have the ND-6500 drive. Just to make sure I wasn't seeing things, I looked both in the device manager AND Nero Infotool and as expected it is the ND 6500 drive.


    Any thoughts or comments? is it possible that the media just isn't supported yet????

    Regards,

    steve7777
     
  9. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    make sure you got right firmware!!!

    i htink there were 2 types for each!

    some hack ones some real ones? and you may need loader app? check at the main website for the drivE
     

Share This Page